Gov Docs: History: African American History

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

National Park Service

Library of Congress

Library of Congress

National Park Service

Sponsored by The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Library of Congress
--The African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909.

Library of Congress

Architect of the Capitol

U.S. Congress, House of Representatives

National Archives
--Links to resources pertaining to Black History

Library of Congress
--Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA)

Library of Congress

by Ira Berlin
Smithsonian Magazine, Feb. 2010

Library of Congress

Library of Congress
--Stories from the Veterans History Project

National Park Service
--Virtual Museum Exhibit

Library of Congress
--The papers of the nineteenth-century African American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher.

Library of Congress

National Archives

National Park Service
--Booker T. Washington (1856-1915), Booker T. Washington (1856-1915), and Tuskegee Airmen (1941-1946)

Smithsonian Institute

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division

Library of Congress

Library of Congress

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS MAGAZINE, v. 7, no. 1 (Jan/Feb 2018) p. 10-13
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
LC 1.18:2018/1

By John Vernon
PROLOGUE MAGAZINE, v. 40, no. 1 (Spring 2008)
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
AE 1.111:40 [v. 40, no. 1, pg. 36-43]

by Trevor K. Plante
PROLOGUE MAGAZINE, v. 33, no. 1 (2001, Spring)
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
AE 1.111:32-33 [v. 33, no. 1, pg. 56-63]

(CRS Reports, RL30378)
Congressional Research Service, June 4, 2020 [54 pgs]

U.S. House of Representatives, Office of the Clerk, Office of History and Preservation, 2008
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
Y 1.1/2:14904

by P. K. Rose
U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, Center for the Study of Intelligence, 1999

by Alan M. Osur
U.S. Air Force, Office of Air Force History, 1976
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 301.2:B 56

by Henry I. Shaw, Jr. and Ralph W. Donnelly
U.S. Marine Corps, History and Museums Division, Headquarters, 1975
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 214.13:B 56

U.S. Army Command and General Staff College, Combat Studies Institute, 1991
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 110.2:B 86

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, 1986
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
CR 1.10:91

by Michael Jay Friedman
U.S. Dept. of State, Bureau of International Information Programs, 2008.
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
S 20.2:C 49

U.S. Army, Center of Military History, 2011
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.19:SW 7

by Morris J. MacGregor, Jr.
U.S. Army, Center of Military History, 1981
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.2:IN 8/940-65

U.S. Dept. of State, 2008 [28 pgs]

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, 1965
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
CR 1.2:L 41

U.S. National Park Service, 2017
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
I 29.6:R 13/2/2019

compiled and edited by Fred H. Allison and Kurtis P. Wheeler.
U.S. Marine Corps, History Division, 2013.
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 214.13:AF 8/3

by Alan M. Osur
Air Force History and Museums Program, 2000
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 301.82/7:R 11

U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1986 [22 pgs]

Smithsonian Institute, National Portrait Gallery, 1971
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 11.2:B 38

Library of Congress, 1993
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
LC 1.6/4:AF 8

NASA, Lewis Research Center, [1992]
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
NAS 1.2:AF 4

(Negro History Bulletin ; v. 51-57, no. 1-12)
U.S. Dept. of Defense, 1994
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
D 1.2:AF 8

U.S. Dept. of Defense, 1991
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
D 1.2:B 56/991

by Lisa W. Strick
Smithsonian Institution, National Portrait Gallery, 1973
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 11.2:B 56/770-800

by Von Hardesty
Smithsonian Institute & HarperCollins Publishers, c2008
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 9.2: B 56 X

by Edward Clark
National Park Service, 1985
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
I 29.82:B 56

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, 1996
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
CR 1.2:C 47/exec.sum

(History in Words from the National Archives)
National Archives, 2008
Marx Library Gov Docs CD-ROM Area (2nd FL South)
AE 1.127:C 49 X/CD

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, 2000
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
CR 1.2:AF 8/v.1-2

(Double Exposure, no. 5)
Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of African American History and Culture, 2017
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 16.2:F 87 X

Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of African American History and Culture, 2016
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 16.2:Sl 1 X

National Park Service, 2018
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
I 29.2:K 58

by Sharyn Kane & Richard Keeton
U.S. National Park Service, Southeast Region, and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Savannah District, 1994
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
D 103.2:SA 9/5

Library of Congress, 1970
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
LC 1.12/2:N 31

Compiled by Dorothy B. Porter
Library of Congress, 1970
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
LC 1.12/2:N 31

U.S. National Park Service, Boston National Historical Park, 2004
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
I 29.2:P 27

Library of Congress, 1906
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
LC 2.2:N 31/2
--A select list of historical books and articles from mid-1800s to 1906.

by Sarah Greenough and Nancy Anderson
Smithsonian Institution, National Gallery of Art & Yale University Press, 2013
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 8.2:M 38 X

Smithsonian Institute, National Museum of African American History and Culture, 2014
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 16.2:AF 8 X

(Official National Park Handbook, no. 156)
U.S. National Park Service, 1998
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
I 29.9/5:156

by Letitia W. Brown and Elsie M. Lewis
U.S. Smithsonian Institution, National Portrait Gallery, 1971
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 11.2:W 27/791-870

by Letitia W. Brown and Elsie M. Lewis
U.S. Smithsonian Institution, National Portrait Gallery, 1971
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 11.2:W 27/870-970

National Museum of African American History and Culture, 2019
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 16.2:F 46 X