LibGuides at USA: Gov Docs: Needs and Offers: HOME

Contact Information

To request a document, please contact:

Vicki Tate

Government Documents Librarian

vtate@southalabama.edu

251-460-7024

Federal Depository Library

The University of South Alabama Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.

WEEDING MATERIALS FROM GOV DOCS

Regional Discard Eligible Titles List
The list of titles eligible for discard under the Regional Discard Policy (April 2017). This list is cumulative.

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS FROM USA MARX LIBRARY

Since the fall of 2012, the Alabama Federal Depository libraries have been using the ASERL Documents Disposition Database as the method for disposing depository materials. Non-depository government documents and depository materials that have gone through the ASERL Database are then offered through Needs and Offers (GPO website, GOVDOC-L, DocTech-L). This LibGuide is a way to organized materials being made available to other libraries.

There are three categories (tabs) within this LibGuide:

OFFERS -- Non-depository materials that are currently available for adoption by other libraries.

NEEDS -- Materials that are needed by the Marx Library to fill-in gaps or replace missing materials in the government documents collection.

DISCARD LISTS -- Depository materials that are currently going through the ASERL disposal method or in the process of being made available for the ASERL Database.

KEY LINKS FOR WITHDRAWING GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

ASERL Documents Disposition Database
--Must be a member to sign-on to the database.
ASERL Documents Disposition Database LibGuide (U. of FL)
Weeding a Depository Collection
FDLP--pub. 2012, rev. 2015
Regional Discard Policy
FDLP
ASERL Centers of Excellence (COE)
List of Current and Pending Centers of Excellence (sorted by SuDoc stem and by Institution)
List of Agencies Yet to be Chosen
---last updated by 08-24-20
ASERL Centers of Excellence
LibGuide from Univ of Central Florida
Agency Directory of COEs, listed by SuDoc
ASERL
FDLP Preservation Steward Partnerships
Preservation Stewards make a commitment to retain specified tangible depository resources for the length of the partnership agreement. They also take on the additional responsibilities for preserving that material. This includes both preventive maintenance and conservation treatments.
Preservation Stewards – Frequently Asked Questions
FDLP--PDF [4 pgs]
Preservation Stewards by SuDoc
FDLP--This sortable spreadsheet lists all current GPO Preservation Steward partners alphabetically by the SuDoc stems covered by their partnership agreements. You can also sort the spreadsheet by institution, or by the Government author, or publication title. This spreadsheet is updated as needed.
FDLP eXchange Archived Project
GPO
FDLP eXchange
GPO
GPO Digitization: GPO Needs List LibGuide
GPO is actively digitizing content, with an immediate focus on adding historical, retrospective content to existing govinfo collections. GPO may accept materials from depository libraries for digitization.

Government Documents Librarian & Depository Coordinator

Vicki Tate

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Library RM 222
University of South Alabama
5901 USA Dr. N.
Mobile, AL 36688