LibGuides at USA: Gov Docs: History: Home

FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY

The University of South Alabama (USA) Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.

DOCUMENTS LINKS

LIBRARY LINKS

Marx Library Homepage
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.
Library Hours

Databases for Historic Government Information

U. S. Executive Branch Documents (ProQuest)
1789-1932
--Searchable database for full-text U.S. government documents.
U.S. Serial Set (ProQuest)
1789-1969
--Searchable database for full-text congressional government documents.

About this Guide

The purpose of this LibGuide is to highlight the materials available from federal government documents that pertain to American history. It is not meant to be all-inclusive and does not include materials available in others collections in the Marx Library. To access those materials be sure to check SOUTHcat and the list of databases accessible through the library.

In addition to this LibGuide, there are other resources you can use as a finding aid to materials. Check out these links to other USA Gov Docs LibGuides on history:

Gov Docs: Military History

Gov Docs: Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day

Gov Docs: Spies, Intelligence, and Cryptography

Gov Docs: Trail of Tears

Gov Docs: Tuskegee Airmen

Gov Docs: Vietnam War, 1961-1975

General History: Web Resources

America's Historical Documents
National Archives
American Memory Timeline: 1763-1968
Library of Congress
--Resources developed to help teachers and students use the vast online collections of the Library of Congress.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates
Library of Congress
History
National Archives, Archives Library Information Center (ALIC)
--Resources in American History ranging from general sites to specific event information.
Milestones in the History of U.S. Foreign Relations
U.S. Dept. of State, Office of the Historian
1750/1775 - 1993/2000
National Archives
Naval History and Heritage Command
U.S. Army Center of Military History
U.S. Dept. of State, Office of the Historian
U.S. History and Historical Documents
USA.GOV
--Highlights from American history, including military events and founding documents
U.S. Serial Set
Library of Congress
--The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, executive-branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.

General History: Online Resources

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-2005
U.S. Govt. Pub. Office, 2005
--From the Continental Congress, September 5, 1774, to October 21, 1788, and the Congress of the United States, from the First through the One Hundred Eighth Congresses, March 4, 1789, to January 3, 2005.
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
Y 1.1/2:14902
Foreign Relations of the United States
U.S. Dept. of State, Office of the Historian
1981/65 (Lincoln) - 1981/1988 (Reagan)
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
S 1.1:1932-1981/1988
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
govinfo
Hoover-Obama (1929-2014)
--The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission.

General History: Library Resources

A Guide to the Study of the United States of America
Library of Congress, 1960
--Listing of "representative books reflecting the development of American life and thought"
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
LC 2.2:UN 3/4
A Guide to the Study of the United States of America, Supplement 1956-1965
Library of Congress, 1976
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
LC 2.2: UN 3/4/SUPP.
The Territorial Papers of the United States
U.S. Dept. of State, 1934-1975
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
S 1.36:v. 1-28
Writings on American History
(Annual Report of the American Historical Association)
Smithsonian Institution
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 4.1:1918-1940, 1948-1960
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, Federal Register Division,
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South, Non-Circ)
GS 4.113:1929-1983 (Hoover-Reagan)
AE 2.112:1984-2014 (Reagan-Obama)

General History: Periodicals

Army History Magazine
U.S. Army Center of Military History, 1989-present
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.20:no.63 (2007)-present
Humanities
National Endowment for the Humanities
v. 28, no. 1 (Jan/Feb 2007) - present
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
NF 3.11:v. 1 (1980) - present
Prologue Magazine
National Archives
Selected articles only: 1973-1996
Full-test of articles: 1997-2017/18
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
AE 1.111:v. 1-7, 9-49 (1969-1974, 1976-2017/18)

Government Documents Librarian & Depository Coordinator

Vicki Tate

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Library RM 222
University of South Alabama
5901 USA Dr. N.
Mobile, AL 36688

251-460-7024

Subjects: Government Documents

LibGuide Information

This LibGuide was originally created by Paula Webb and is currently being updated by Vicki Tate. If you have any questions regarding content, email: vtate@southalabama.edu

Last major revision: 6/10/20

Gov Docs: History: Home

LibGuide Status