Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY
The University of South Alabama (USA) Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.
President Joe Biden
Elected in 2020, Joe Biden was inaugurated as the 46th president of the United States on January 20, 2021.
Current Vice President
Vice President Kamala Harris
On inauguration day, Jan. 20, 2021, Kamala Harris became the 49th Vice President of the United States. She is the first woman, the first Black American, and the first South Asian American to be elected Vice President.
Executive: Online Resources
Code of Federal Regulations (1996-present)
--The CFR annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.
Compilation of Presidential Documents (1992 to present)
--This collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
Economic Report of the President (1995 to present)
--Annual report written by the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices
Executive Office of the President
--List of Offices created to help develop and implement the policy and programs of the President.
Federal Executive Branch
--The president is the head of the executive branch of the government, which includes many departments and agencies.
Federal Government Departments and Agencies
--There are hundreds of federal departments, agencies and commissions charged with handling such responsibilities as managing America's space program, protecting its forests, and gathering intelligence.
Public Papers of the Presidents (1991 to 2014)
--The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission.
Travels of the President
Office of the Historian
--Lists presidential travels from Theodore Roosevelt (1901) to the current president.
Executive: Library Resources
Department of Agriculture (USDA)
The Department of Agriculture provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, and related issues.
Department of Commerce (DOC)
The mission of the Department is to create the conditions for economic growth and opportunity.
Department of Defense (DOD)
The Department of Defense provides the military forces needed to deter war, and to protect the security of the United States.
Department of Education (ED)
The mission of the Department of Education is to foster educational excellence and to ensure equal access to educational opportunity for all.
Department of Energy (DOE)
The Department of Energy manages the United States' nuclear infrastructure and administers the country's energy policy. The Department of Energy also funds scientific research in the field.
Department of Health and Human Service (HHS)
The Department of Health and Human Services protects the health of all Americans and provides essential human services.
Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
Formed in 2002 from the combination of 22 departments and agencies, the Department of Homeland Security works to improve the security of the United States.
Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
The Department of Housing and Urban Development administers programs that provide housing and community development assistance. The Department also works to ensure fair and equal housing opportunity for all.
Department of Justice (DOJ)
The Department of Justice works to enforce federal law, to seek just punishment for the guilty, and to ensure the fair and impartial administration of justice.
Department of Labor (DOL)
The Department of Labor administers a variety of federal labor laws to guarantee workers' rights to fair, safe, and healthy working conditions, including minimum hourly wage and overtime pay, protection against employment discrimination, and unemployment insurance.
Department of State (DOS)
The Department of State advises the President and leads the nation in foreign policy issues. The State Department negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign entities, and represents the United States at the United Nations.
Department of the Interior (DOI)
The Department of the Interior manages public lands and minerals, national parks, and wildlife refuges and upholds Federal trust responsibilities to Indian tribes and Native Alaskans. Additionally, Interior is responsible for endangered species conservation and other environmental conservation efforts.
Department of the Treasury
The Department of the Treasury manages Federal finances by collecting taxes and paying bills and by managing currency, government accounts and public debt. The Department of the Treasury also enforces finance and tax laws.
Department of Transportation (DOT)
The Department of Transportation is responsible for planning and coordinating federal transportation projects. It also sets safety regulations for all major modes of transportation.
Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)
For information about VA medical care or benefits, write, call or visit your nearest VA facility.
Government Documents Librarian & Depository Coordinator
This LibGuide was originally created by Paula Webb and is currently being updated by Vicki Tate. If you have any questions regarding content, email: email@example.com