LibGuides at USA: Gov Docs: History: Cold War

FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY

The University of South Alabama (USA) Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.

DOCUMENTS LINKS

LIBRARY LINKS

Marx Library Homepage
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.
Library Hours

Cold War: Web Resources

American History: The Cold War
Voice of America (VOA), Sept. 21, 2011
The Cold War
National Archives
--provides links and citations to NARA-prepared or NARA-sponsored sources of information about this Cold War documentation.
A Cold War Conundrum: The 1983 Soviet War Scare
By Benjamin B. Fischer
Central Intelligence Agency, 1997
Containment and Cold War, 1945-1961
U.S. Dept. of State, Office of the Historian
CWIHP Bulletin
(Cold War International History Project)
Smithsonian Institute, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
no. 1-17/18 (1992, Spring-2012, Fall)
The End of the Cold War, 1981-1992
U.S.Dept. of State, Office of the Historian
The Manhattan Project: The Cold War (1945-1990)
U.S.Dept. of Energy, Office of History and Heritage Resources
Origins of the Cold War
National Park Service
--Chapters 1-4
The Origins of the Cold War, 1945–1949
U.S. National Endowment for the Humanities, Curriculum 9-12
Superpowers Collide, 1961-1981
U.S. Dept. of State, Office of the Historian

Cold War: Online Resources

American Cryptology during the Cold War, 1945-1989
by Thomas R. Johnson
National Security Archive, 1995, [6 parts]
--Declassified copy; some parts are still redacted.
At Cold War's End: U.S. Intelligence on the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, 1989-1991
Central Intelligence Agency, 1999
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
PREX 3.2:C 67
Battlefield of the Cold War: The Nevada Test Site
v. 1. Atmospheric Nuclear Weapons Testing 1951-1963 [258 pgs]
U.S. Dept. of Energy, 2006
CIA Documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
Central Intelligence Agency, 1992
The CIA under Harry Truman
CIA, Center for the Study of Intelligence, 1994 [473 pgs]
The City Becomes a Symbol: The U.S. Army in the Occupation of Berlin, 1945-1949
by William Stivers and Donald A. Carter
U.S. Army, Center of Military History, 2017
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.2:C 67/2/B 45
Cold War in Alaska: A Resource Guide for Teachers and Students
National Park Service, Alaska Regional Office, National Historic Landmarks Program, 2014
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
I 29.9/2:W 19/2
CWIHP Bulletin
(Cold War International History Project)
Smithsonian Institution, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars,
no. 1 (Spring 1992) - no. 16 (Fall 2007/Winter 2008)
The Decline of Détente: Elliot Richardson, James Schlesinger, and Donald Rumsfeld 1973-1977
(Cold War Foreign Policy Series, Special Study ; 7)
U.S.Dept. of Defense, Office of the Secretary, Historical Office, 2015.
Espionage Against the United States by American Citizens, 1947-2001
by Katherine L. Herbig & Martin F Wiskoff
Defense Personnel Security Research Center, 2002 [135 pgs]
U.S. Office of the National Counterintelligence Executive
Hitler's Shadow: Nazi War Criminals, U.S. Intelligence, and the Cold War
National Archives and Records Administration, 2010
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
AE 1.102:H 63
Human Experimentation: An Overview on Cold War Era Programs
statement of Frank C. Conahan
(GAO/T-NSIAD-94-266)
U.S. General Accounting Office, 1994
Inside the Cold War: A Cold Warrior’s Reflections
by Chris Adams
Air University Press, 1999 [188 pgs]
The Manhattan Project: Making the Atomic Bomb
by F.G. Gosling
(National Security History Series)
U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of History and Heritage Resources, 2010 [128 pgs]
Milestones in Strategic Arms Control, 1945-2000: United States Air Force Roles and Outcomes
U.S. Air Force, Institute for National Security Studies, 2002 [318 pgs]
Mind-sets and Missiles: A First Hand Account of the Cuban Missile Crisis
by Strategic Studies Institute
U.S. Army War College, Strategic Studies Institute, 2009
NSA and the Cuban Missile Crisis
National Security Agency, 1999
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 1.2:C 91/2
On the Front Lines of the Cold War: Documents on the Intelligence War in Berlin, 1946 to 1961
CIA Center for the Study of Intelligence, 1999 [HTML format]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
PREX 3.18:D 65
Rearming at the Dawn of the Cold War: Louis Johnson, George Marshall, and Robert Lovett, 1949-1952
by Jeffrey A. Larsen and Robert M. Shelala II
(Cold War Foreign Policy Series, Special Study ; 2)
National Defense University Press, 2012 [29 pgs]
Ronald Reagan, Intelligence and the End of the Cold War
Central Intelligence Agency, Historical Collections, [2011]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
PREX 3.22:R 22
To Defend and Deter: The Legacy of the United States Cold War Missile Program
by John C. Lonnquest and david F. Winkler
U.S. Dept. of Defense, Legacy Resource Management Program, Cold War Project, 1996 [609 pgs]
Why We Should Still Study the Cuban Missile Crisis
by Michael Dobbs
(Special report ; 205)
U.S. Institute of Peace, 2008
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
Y 3.P 31:20/205

Cold War: Library Resources

Building the Bombs: A History of the Nuclear Weapons Complex
by Charles R. Loeber
U.S.Dept. of Energy, Sandia National Laboratories, 2012
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
E 1.2:B 86/9/2012
Drawing the Iron Curtain: Cold War Cartoons, 1946-1960
--A Caroline and Erwin Swann Memorial Exhibition, May 23-August 16, 1996
Library of Congress. Prints and Photographs Division, 1996
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
LC 25.2:C 94
International Cold War Military Records and History
U.S. Army, Center of Military History, 1996
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
D 114.2:C 67

Government Documents Librarian & Depository Coordinator

Vicki Tate

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Library RM 222
University of South Alabama
5901 USA Dr. N.
Mobile, AL 36688

251-460-7024

Subjects: Government Documents

Gov Docs: History: Cold War

LibGuide Information