Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY
The University of South Alabama (USA) Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.
Social Sciences Databases
Child Welfare Information Gateway
U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services, Administration for Children & Families, Children's Bureau
Provides access to print and electronic publications and online databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more. Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information about safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families on child welfare, adoption and related topics
IDEA Country Dashboard
USAID, International Data & Economic Analysis (IDEA)
Explore the most up-to-date country data across sectors in a highly visual and interactive dashboard, where you can compare values across income groups and regional averages.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
U.S. Dept. of Justice, Office of Justice Programs
Search of the NCJRS Virtual Library, which contains more than 225,000 collection records, including more than 80,000 online resources and all known Office of Justice Programs' works.
National Transportation Library
U.S. Dept. of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)
Repository and Open Science Access Portal (ROSA P)--are full-text digital publications, datasets, and other resources and is designated as the full-text repository for USDOT-funded research.
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
The OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources.
Political Organization Filing and Disclosure Website
U.S. Dept. of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
This website allows you to search for information from Forms 8871 (Political Organization Notice of Section 527 Status), 8872 (Political Organization Report of Contributions and Expenditures) and Form 990 (Return of Organization Exempt From Income Tax) filed with the IRS.
Popular Baby Names
U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA)
Search for popular baby names by decade, state and the top five names over the last one-hundred years
Search for NIOSH Publications
U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Preventions, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
Searchable bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and other communication products supported in whole or in part by NIOSH
State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS)
U.S. Dept. of Housing & Urban Development (HUD)
The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs.
U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
Provides over 250 countries’ map and flag, geographic, population, government, economic, communication, transportation, military, and transnational issue information. Updated periodically throughout the year
Social Sciences Data sets