Gov Docs: Government Databases, Data Sets & Registries: Health

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

U.S. Dept. of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Adm. (OSHA)
--OSHA compliance officers often take industrial hygiene samples when monitoring worker exposures to chemical hazards. Many of these samples are submitted to the Salt Lake Technical Center (SLTC) for analysis. They include data on personal, area, and bulk samples for various airborne contaminants. Once the case is closed, the sampling results are included on this web page from 1984 forward.

U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
--A manually curated database of conditions with known genetic causes, focusing on medically significant genetic data with available interventions.

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
--An interactive database system developed by staff of the Division of Health Promotion Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics, and contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
--Information about FDA-approved brand name and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products. Includes most of the drug products approved since 1939 and has drug labels, patient information, approval letters, and other information for most drug products approved since 1998.

U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, Health Services Research and Development
--Program established to provide timely and accurate syntheses of targeted health care topics of particular importance to VA managers and policy makers and to disseminate reports throughout the VA. Provides list of available reports and links.

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
--Searches for HRSA-funded health centers in most cities and many rural areas.

USDA, Agricultural Research Service (ARS)
--Search the database for food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for your food items.

U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services (HHS), Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion

U.S. Census Bureau
--Provides access to published results from the multitude of surveys on the AIDS pandemic and HIV infection in developing countries.

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
--Compare hospitals based on their overall star rating, summarizing up to 57 measures of quality shown on Hospital Compare.

U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services (HHS), Office of Minority Health (OMH)
--Searchable collection of documents, articles, reports, books, journals and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations. The library collection also includes sources of consumer health material in more than 35 languages.

U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services (HHS), Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
-- Identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information.

U.S. Census Bureau
--Shows data for insured and uninsured, broken down by age, race, sex, and income.

--Provides the latest national data on alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, other drug abuse and related information.

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
--Search for health-related travel information by country.

U.S. Health and Human Services (HHS)
--This database includes hundreds of thousands of reports of health events that occurred minutes, hours or days after vaccination.

CDC

Dept. of Health & Human Services

HHS.gov

U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.

U.S. CDC, National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

U.S. Health and Human Services

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)--primary method of sharing cleared information about urgent public health incidents with public information officers; federal, state, territorial, tribal, and local public health practitioners; clinicians; and public health laboratories.
2015-present