Gov Docs: Government Databases, Data Sets & Registries: Science & Technology

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

--The National Agricultural Library Catalog provides citations to agricultural literature.

USDA, Economic Research Service (ERS)
--Provides a custom-query app that enables the user to access the 10-year projections for the U.S. farm sector.

National Transportation Safety Board
--Contains civil aviation accidents and selected incidents that occurred from 1962 to present within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters.

U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency& Renewable Energy
--Database that contains energy-related characteristics of commercial and residential buildings.

National Transportation Safety Board
--NTSB's query tool for information about investigations and recommendations.
Aviation: 1962 - present
Surface-mode: 2010 - present

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
-- A database with access to health and safety data on chemicals regulated under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). It contains information EPA receives and develops about chemicals.

U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)
--Search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data records submitted by data centers, repositories, and other organizations funded by the Department.

U.S. Food & Drug Administration
--Contains data elements from FDA compliance and enforcement data sources, including Inspections, Compliance Actions, Recalls, Imports, and Food Safety Modernization Act programs.

USDA, U.S. National Plant Germplasm System
--Germplasm Resources Information Network global taxonomy for plants

U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
--Comprehensive collection of crystal structure data of inorganic compounds containing more than 210,000 entries and covering the literature from 1913.

NASA, Scientific and Technical Information (STI)
--Search the collection of aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos created or funded by NASA.

--NTRS provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
--Your Geoscience resource for maps and related data about: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
--Information on minerals-related issues, including minerals conservation, sustainability, availability, materials flow, and the economic health of the U.S. minerals industry.

U.S. National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
--NTRL acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence.

U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
--Includes essentially all reported kinetics results for thermal gas-phase chemical reactions.

U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
--Provides access to data compiled and distributed under the Standard Reference Data Program, such as thermochemical and thermophysical data, spectra, and data on specific compounds

U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Provides easy access to many (currently over 80) of the NIST scientific and technical databases. These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines

U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
--NIST develops and produces free, web interface SRD and develops and sells fee-based SRD. The SRD databases may include data from the literature, NIST research, or both, all critically evaluated by NIST.

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
--Tracks occurrence data on non-native aquatic plant and animal species throughout the United States, and provides the public with species profiles, distribution maps, and online/real-time queries for state/hydrologic basin- specific species.

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
--National Water Information System (NWISWeb) provide the public with access to more than 100 year of water data collected by USGS.

U.S. NOAA, National Centers for Environmental Information
--Search, discover and access video data from OER sponsored missions on NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer and other vessels.

U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)
--The primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTI's home page and the now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect.

U.S. Dept. of Agriculture (USDA), Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
--Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories

U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Center for Biotechnology Information
--An open chemistry database which mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules, collecting information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
--A searchable database of research products primarily from EPA's Office of Research and Development. Science Inventory records provide descriptions of the product, contact information, and links to available printed material or websites.

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
--Provides the locations of land-based and offshore wind turbines in the United States, corresponding wind project information, and turbine technical specifications.

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
--Provides access to over 180,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
--Provides the public access to search tools used by patent examiners.

USDA, Economic Research Service
--Select "Data" to access and analyze datasets, maps, charts and graphs.

NOAA

USDA, Agricultural Research Service
--List of Agricultural Research Service programs that generate many publicly accessible data products that are catalogued in the Ag Data Commons. Currently 236 dataset are available.

U.S. Geological survey (USGS)

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)