Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY
The University of South Alabama (USA) Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.
Access to Archival Databases (AAD)
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Provides online access to a selection of nearly 50 million unique historic electronic records created in highly structured databases from more than 20 federal agencies on a wide range of topics.
Alabama Civil War Service Database
Alabama Department of Archives and History
American Silent Feature Film Database
Library of Congress
Represents the first comprehensive survey of the survival of American silent feature films.
Biographical Directory of Article III Federal Judges
U.S. Federal Judicial Center
The directory includes the biographies of judges presidentially appointed to serve during good behavior since 1789 on the U.S. district courts, U.S. courts of appeals, Supreme Court of the United States, and U.S. Court of International Trade, as well as the former U.S. circuit courts, Court of Claims, U.S. Customs Court, and U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Civil Rights History Project: Survey of Collections and Repositories
U.S. Library of Congress, American Folklife Center
Search for collections by title, repository state, or subject
Images from the History of Medicine
U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century
MARAD Vessel History Database
U.S. Dept. of Transportation, Maritime Administration
Contains information on more than 6000 vessels that have been or still a part of the National Defense Reserve Fleet
National Register of Historic Places
U.S. National Park Service
The official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archaeological resources.
National Security Archives (George Washington University)
Serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
NOAA/WDC Global Historical Tsunami Database at NGDC
The Global Historical Tsunami Database consists of two related files containing information on tsunami events from 2000 B.C. to the present in the Atlantic, Indian, and Pacific Oceans; and the Mediterranean and Caribbean Seas.
Search for Soldiers
National Park Service
Soldiers and Sailors Database
National Park Service
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War. The initial focus of the CWSS is the Names Index Project, a project to enter names and other basic information from 6.3 million soldier records in the National Archives.