Gov Docs: Government Databases, Data Sets & Registries: Medicine

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Search for publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants around the world

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Search by drug name, active ingredient, or application number

U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences

U.S. National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Allergies and Infectious Diseases (NIAID).
Contains HCV-associated, hand-annotated genetic data in a user-friendly way.

U.S. National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Allergies and Infectious Diseases (NIAID).
Contains comprehensive data on HIV genetic sequences and immunological epitopes. The website also gives access to a large number of tools that can be used to analyze and visualize these data.

U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
This database contains key device identification information submitted to the FDA about medical devices that have Unique Device Identifiers (UDI).

U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Search medical subject headings

U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Search for information about drug prescriptions, over-the-counter medicines, herbs and supplements

U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free, about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

Online resources that helps people find quality treatment for alcohol use disorder (AUD).

U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
"... comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."

U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
"... integrates and distributes key terminology, classification and coding standards, and associated resources to promote creation of more effective and interoperable biomedical information systems and services, including electronic health records."

Healthcare.gov

U.S. National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)

U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Lists NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse.

U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)

CDC--This case surveillance public use dataset has 12 elements for all COVID-19 cases shared with CDC and includes demographics, any exposure history, disease severity indicators and outcomes, presence of any underlying medical conditions and risk behaviors, and no geographic data.