Gov Docs: Training Resources: Maps Info

LibGuide to Marx Library Government Documents Collection

Ordering maps from U. S. Geological Service.

Request for ordering maps from ALDOT available.

Univ. of Texas -- Listings for new and antiquarian map dealers, as well as dealers by map type.

Office of Coast Survey (NOAA)--produces and maintains a suite of nautical charts that cover the coastal waters of the U.S. and its territories.
--All traditional NOAA paper nautical charts will be canceled by January 2025

Dept. of Defense, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
--The official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (BGN).

Office of Coast Survey (NOAA)

View or download NOAA charts in different raster formats

USGS

USGS.

--Over 38,000 maps are available online

Western Association of Map Libraries -- Map resources related to map librarianship with an Alphabetical Keyword Index.

Map and Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT)

MAGIRT (ALA) A directory of map collections, big and small, across the United States. [Beta version]

--Census maps (1790-2009); Religion maps (1980-2000)
NOTE: content requires the Adobe Flash Player

--provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2011.

--access to digital maps from the New York Public Library

U. of Texas-Austin. The PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps with about 20% of them available online.

Univ. of Alabama -- Indexes to digitized historical maps, contemporary maps, and aerial photography. Emphasis is on Alabama but it has maps for all states and international.

Univ. of Alabama -- Indexes to digitized historical maps, contemporary maps, and aerial photography. Emphasis is on Alabama but it has maps for all states and international.