Gov Docs: Training Resources: Acquisitions

Slides presented by James R. Jacobs, GODORT Chat, 8/14/20

Presented by James A. Jacobs (UCSD) and James R Jacobs (Stanford)
(Help! I'm an Accidental Government Information Librarian webinar series), Jan. 12, 2015
--Presentation Slides and Recording available

Presented by Cynthia Etkins (GPO), Stephen Kharfen (GPO), and Vicki L. Tate (U. of South Alabama)
FDLP Virtual Annual Meeting
Collection & Discovery Services
Working Group Update
Oct. 22, 2020 48 min.

by John A. McGeachy
DttP: DOCUMENTS TO THE PEOPLE, v. 16, no. 1 (March 1988), p. 24-36

by Cynthia Bower
DttP: DOCUMENTS TO THE PEOPLE, v. 17, no. 3 (Sept. 1989), p. 120-126

by Gil Baldwin (GPO)
ADMINISTRATIVE NOTES, v. 24, no. 10 (Aug. 15, 2003) p. 4-8

by Mary Martin
DttP: DOCUMENTS TO THE PEOPLE, v. 23, no. 1 (March 1995), p. 42-45

by James R. Jacobs
AGAINST THE GRAIN, Dec. 2017/Jan. 2018, v. 29, no. 6 , pg. 14-16

by John Spencer Walters
JOURNAL OF GOVERNMENT INFORMATION, v. 21, no. 5 (1994), p. 413-435

GPO -- Ordering U.S. government publications.

FDLP -- Collection of relevant documents
---Digital FDLP Implementations: FAQS
---Digital FDLP Update Meeting Executive Summary
---Evolution of a Digital Federal Depository Library Program: A Brief History
---Implementation of Digital FDLP – Slides
---Print Distribution Titles (PDT) List

ASERL Documents Disposition Database assists in the disposition of items from depository libraries.

Univ. of FL--A short guide to using this tool

Depository libraries may acquire additional depository publications, primarily older resources, through the FDLP eXchange. This is an automated processing tool, allowing libraries to post and acquire needed depository publications, when offered by other depository libraries weeding those publications. Federal depository libraries may have up to five accounts to work within the system and may update these as needed.

Harvested by: Library Services and Content Management, U.S. Government Publishing Office.
--Harvests selected U.S. Government Web sites in their entirety. Access to these sites is made available through links in CGP.

"Because government information needs to be free"
FGI is a place for initiating dialogue and building consensus among the various players (libraries, government agencies, non-profit organizations, researchers, journalists, etc.) who have a stake in the preservation of and perpetual free access to government information.

Marx Library

GPO--Blog highlighting books available from GPO Bookstore or topics in the news.

GPO--Latest titles added to Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

FDLP--As the FDLP is now a digital-first program, the number of print titles and the number of copies of them has decreased to 20- and 50-quantity, with another 10 titles available to any library that wants to receive them. This spreadsheet contains the preliminary list of libraries and the titles they will receive in print. The data is presented by LIBRARY, by TITLE, by NCSA and TYPE by TITLE, and MAPS by TITLE.

FDLP

SOD-PPS-2019-1
Effective: 04/10/2019

Defense

Labor

Searchable database

HHS -- Searchable database

Commerce

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
--For hard copy ordering, select "All Publications Available for Ordering"

Searchable database

Searchable database

--Gives links to various agencies with DOJ that go to their publications web page.

USDA

---FDLP password required to access content.

National Transportation Library [ROSAP}

USDA

Interior

Browse by Government Author

Interagency -- "The Gulf of Mexico Alliance is a Regional Ocean Partnership working to sustain the resources of the Gulf of Mexico. Led by the five Gulf States, the broad partner network includes federal agencies, academic organizations, businesses, and other non-profits in the region."

Searchable database for publications from 1948-2017

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)

Searchable database

HHS

HHS

NSF NCSES -- Find all electronically available NCSES reports, 1993 - present. Use the filter box to find products by key words.

--books, JFQ, PRISM

Independent Agency

Bookstore

HHS

Transp.

HHS / NIH

HHS / NIH

Reserve Management Plans and Site Profiles

Interior - "Official Online Store of America's National Parks" [Eastern Association]

Interior

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Commerce--Searchable database.
--The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence.

U.S. Dept. of Justice

Health and Human Services (HHS)

Bookstore $$

--The OCC produces publications for bankers, examiners, and other agency stakeholders on an array of topics.

U.S. Forest Service -- Searchable database

U.S. Army War College

2009-2017

Thurgood Marshall Law Library (U. of Md)

DHS -- Must register to request publications

Interior

Interior

Reprints of U.S. government publications.

"Nation's leader in political journalism and publications."

Reprints of U.S. government publications.

"Extensive reprint publishing program which provides access to previously unavailable legal classics and United States Government and United Nations documents."

FDLP -- Every Federal depository library is required to have the titles in the "basic collection" accessible for immediate use.

GPO -- A core group of current and historical Government publications being made available for free, permanent, public access via GPO Access.

FDLP -- The Essential Titles list was originally created in 1996 as a collection that the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) planned to continue disseminating in tangible format in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). The list was comprised of titles of U.S. Government information resources deemed essential to the conduct of government.

FDLP -- List of publication titles suggested for selection by academic, public, and law libraries.

FDLP
Last Updated: January 13, 2022

Ashley Dahlen, Outreach Librarian, U.S. Government Printing Office (10/03/2014) [18 mins.]

--LibGuide

--out-of-print books

--foreign, out-of-print, obscure, and collectible titles

--specializing in out of print books