Federal Depository Library

The University of South Alabama Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
USA Map Collection
The primary focus of our map collection is the state of Alabama, the states along its borders, and the Gulf Coast. Also included in our collection are world maps, national forest maps, posters, atlases and GIS software.
The majority of our map collection is shelved in the map cabinets, which are divided into several categories. These categories include topographic maps, hydrographic maps, world maps, foreign maps, orthophotoquad, national forests and national parks, United States, state maps, and maps from the Bureau of Land Management. Besides the maps we received from the government we also maintain a collection of maps and posters from National Geographic.
The largest portion of our collection are topographic maps. These maps come in three varieties: 7.5 minute maps, 15 minute maps and 30x60 minute maps.
- 7.5 minute maps are 1:24,000 scale. One inch represents 2,000 feet. They get their name because each map covers a 4-sided area of 7.5 minutes and latitude 7.5 minutes longitude. Since each map is divided into precisely measure quadrangles, adjacent maps can be combined to form a larger map.
- 15 minute maps use a scale of 1:62,500. One inch represents approximately one mile. We have some older maps in this format. Since 1960, USGS ceased production at this scale.
- 30x60 minute maps use 1:100,000 scale and are generally in a “landscape” vs. “portrait” format and show more detail than the other two. One inch represents 1.6 miles.
Topographic maps use contour lines to indicate shape and elevation of land and include natural and man-made features to distinguish landmarks.
Our topographic map collection is limited to the Gulf Coast and neighboring states. We have the complete collection of 7.5 minute quadrangle maps from the state of Alabama and keep all editions of Mobile and Baldwin County area maps. We have a limited collection from surrounding states, such as Mississippi, Florida, Georgia, and Tennessee as well as those touching the Gulf Coast including Louisiana and Texas. These maps circulate, with the exception of the most recent edition of Mobile/Baldwin County maps.
Since Mobile is a port city, hydrographic maps and nautical charts also make up another large portion of our collection. They cover the Gulf and Atlantic Coasts from the Gulf of Mexico to Maine as well as the West Indies. These also circulate with the exception of the most recent maps in our area. During hurricane season (June 1 – Nov. 30) the Gulf of Mexico map is used as our hurricane tracking chart. It can be found on the wall next to the southwest stairwell.
Orthophotoquads are 7.5 minute maps, based
on black and white aerial photographs. They have minimal cartographic
treatment and lack contours. Only a few names and symbols are included
on the maps. Our collection covers a small sample of Alabama
quadrangles. These maps do not circulate.
Our national forest collection covers national forests in
the United States. Maps come in a variety of sizes, colors and
details. The flat national forest maps are shelved in the map cabinets.
The 7.5 minute national forest maps are shelved in our Topographic map
drawers. Our folded national park maps are shelved in the documents
stacks. Maps with barcodes circulate.
CIA maps are mainly small (approx. 8.5”x11”) maps of countries and regions around the world. These are found in our “Vertical File” (black filing cabinet) next to the CD cabinets. Larger versions of these are found in the Foreign map drawer in the map cabinet. Maps with barcodes may circulate.
We have a limited collection of Bureau of Land Management maps. These are Surface Mineral Management, Mineral Management Status and Desert Access Guides. States covered are Western States: Arizona, Colorado, Wyoming, and Idaho, just to name a few. These maps do not circulate.
The library collects all Alabama soil surveys, along with the soil surveys from counties bordering Alabama from surrounding states. The maps that accompany the text are shelved together in the documents stacks.
Not all maps in our collection are government documents. We have several miscellaneous maps, National Geographic maps, and posters. Our National Geographic collection includes maps and posters printed by National Geographic as supplements to their magazine. Our poster collection contains a combination of posters from the government and posters from other vendors.
Our atlas collection is located on our
oversized shelves in the Southwest corner of the department. The
collection emphasizes the Gulf Coast Region. The National Atlas of the
United States, along with our collection of Geologic Atlases are kept
in the Atlas cabinet to the right of our map cabinets. The World Ocean
Atlas is located in the microfiche cabinets or on CD-ROM.
The GIS workstation includes 3 powerful CD’s. Land View
IV, Land View 6, and TIGER/Census Tract Street Index (Ver. 4). Please
ask one of our Documents Reference Staff for assistance. These do not
circulate.
***Should you need a map that is not in SOUTHCAT but is in
our collection, please let us know. We can get it ready for you to
check out –usually the same day.
Federal
- AirNowQuality of Air means Quality of Life. Find current US air conditions.
- American Memory Map CollectionThe focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
- EnviroMapper Store FrontEnviroMapper is a Web-based interactive mapping tool for viewing and querying environmental information. This application allows users to zoom in to an area, or enter a state, county, city, ZIP code, or watershed to view environmental data from EPA's Envirofacts Warehouse.
- FEMA Map Service CenterA collection of Maps and Publications by FEMA.
- Geodata.govYour one stop for federal, state, and local geographic data.
- Maps (USA.gov)A general collection of maps from USA.gov that cover all topics from the community to the world.
- National AtlasAn atlas that gathers and presents information designed to help us understand continental-scale environmental issues has been released by the Commission for Environmental Cooperation (CEC).
- National MapThe National Map is a consistent framework for geographic knowledge needed by the Nation. It provides public access to high-quality, geo-spatial data and information from multiple partners to help support decision-making by resource managers and the public.
- National Park Service Interactive Map CenterThe IMC contains information about and maps of national parks. The IMC delivers base maps and park brochure maps for geographic reference and navigation to and within parks.
- Solar System GeneratorThis is a database of JPL/Caltech generated planetary maps. Select your planetary system of choice!
- Summary Maps: Exploration, Resources, Reserves and Production, Energy Information Administration
- USGS Maps, Imagery and PublicationsAn extensive collection of USGS maintained maps, photos and other forms of geographical data.
- United States National Arboretum USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map
- US Gelogical Survey Earthquake Hazard Program
- USGS Disease Maps
Alabama
- Alabama MapsAlabama Maps is an ongoing project of the Cartographic Research Laboratory, which operates under the auspices of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Alabama.
- Alabama Geological Survey MapsThe collection is a part of the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
- Alabama Public Forcasts Zones Boundaries
- Geological Survey of Alabama (Oil and Gas Board)
- Graphic Forcasts for the State of Alabama
- National Forests in Alabama
- Preliminary Integrated Geologic Map Database for the United States
- US Census Map: Alabama County Selection Map
- US Fish and Wildlife Service Alabama
Local
- Atmore - 1986(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Baldwin County Historical County Highway Maps
- Baldwin County - Hurricane Ivan Surge Indundation Maps
- Biloxi - 1982(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Chickasaw - 2005(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Daphne - 2005(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Dauphin Island - 2005(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Foley - 2005(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Fort Morgan - 2005(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Gulf - 1994(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Gulf Islands Park - 1999(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Gulf Shores - 2005(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Hurricane Surge Maps for the Alabama Gulf CoastUS Army of Corps Engineers
- Mobile - 1815(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Mobile - 1919(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Robertsdale - 2005(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
- Silverhill - 2005(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin)
Guide Author
Contact Info University Library RM 222 University of South Alabama 5901 USA Dr. N. Mobile, AL 36688 251-460-7024 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Job title: Head, Government Documents/Serials; Federal Depository Librarian |



Loading...
