LibGuides at USA: Gov Docs: LGBTQ+ Resources : Home

FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY

The University of South Alabama (USA) Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.

DOCUMENTS LINKS

GOV DOCS RESOURCES

The LGBTQ+ Community in America

[ LAUREN WITTE | Times (2022) ]

The purpose of this LibGuide is to highlight the materials available from the federal government that pertain to the LGBTQ+ Community in America. It is not meant to be all-inclusive and does not include materials available in other collections at the Marx Library. To access those materials, be sure to check SOUTHcat and the list of databases accessible through the library.

For additional pathfinding aids, check out these other LibGuides:

LGBTQ+ Resources

Mental Health Resources: LGBTQ+ Concerns

General Websites

Congressional LGBTQ+ Equality Caucus
Home Page
"In the 118th Congress, ten openly LGBTQI+ members of the United States House of Representatives help lead the Congressional Equality Caucus—one as Chair and nine as Co-Chairs. The Equality Caucus Chair and Co-Chairs work together to set the Caucus’ agenda for the Congress and fulfill the Caucus’ mission to promote equality for all people regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity, or sex characteristics, including intersex traits."
Movement Advancement Project: Equality Maps
Home Page
"The Movement Advancement Project (MAP) is an independent, nonprofit think tank that provides rigorous research, insight, and communications that help speed equality and opportunity for all."

MAP's "Equality Maps" track various different LGBTQ-related issues. Users can select any state to view a detailed policy tally and state profile, or click "Choose an Issue" to view maps on over 50 different LGBTQ-related laws and policies.
National Center for Transgender Equality
Home Page
"The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice."

Library of Congress Collections

**LGBTQIA+ Studies: A Resource Guide
By Meg Metcalf, 2022
"The collections of the Library of Congress tell the rich and diverse story of LGBTQ+ life in America and around the world. This research guide serves as an introduction into the excellent collection of LGBTQ+ resources available at the Library of Congress."
Let’s Talk Comics: LGBTQIA+ Titles
By Amber Paranick, 2021
LGBTQ+ Legal Resources: A Beginner's Guide
By Barbara Bavis and Meg Metcalf, 2019
LGBTQ+ Resources in Business and the Workplace
By Gulnar Nagashybayeva, 2019

Statistics

Characteristics of Adults in Same-Sex and Opposite-Sex Couples by State (2019)
Census Bureau, 2021
"New Household Pulse Survey Data Reveals Differences between LGBT and Non-LGBT Respondents During COVID-19 Pandemic"
By Lydia Anderson, et al.
Census Bureau, 2021
Same-Sex Couples Data
Census Bureau, 2021
Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity in the Household Pulse Survey (2021)
Census Bureau, 2021
Who Is Living Together? Same-Sex Couples in the United States (2019)
Census Bureau, 2019

Miscellaneous

LGBTQI+ Travelers
U.S. Dept. of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs
LGBTQI+ Youth [StopBullying.gov]
U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services
A Paired-Testing Pilot Study of Housing Discrimination against Same-Sex Couples and Transgender Individuals
U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development, 2017
LGBTQ Youths in the Juvenile Justice System
U.S. Dept. of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention, 2014
J 32.33:L 56

ABOUT OUR DEPARTMENT

LIBRARY LINKS

Marx Library Homepage
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.
Library Hours