Gov Docs: Federal: Legislative

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

U.S. Congress
--Searchable database

--Gateway to everything on the U.S. Congress

govinfo
--Contains bills from the 103rd Congress (1993/1994) to the present.

"Nonpartisan Analysis for the U.S. Congress"
--Since 1975, CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process.

govinfo
--Contains the Congressional Calendars for 104th Congress (1995/1996) to present.

govinfo
--Contains the Congressional Committee Prints from the 94th (1975/1976), 101th (1989/1990) Congresses to the present.

govinfo
--Contains the Congressional Directory from the 105th Congress (1997/1998) to the present.

govinfo
--Contains Congressional Documents from the 94th (1975/1976), 96th (1979/1980), 99th-101st (1985/1986-1989/1990) 103rd (1993/1994) Congresses to the present.

govinfo
--Contains the Congressional Hearings from the 85th-97th (1957/1958-1981/1982), 99th-100th (1985/1986-1987/1988), 102nd (1991/1992) Congresses to the present.

govinfo
--Contains the Congressional Pictorial Directory from the 105th Congress (1997/1998) to the present.

govinfo
--Contains the Congressional Record (Bound Edition) from v. 1 (1873) - v.162 (2016).

govinfo
--Contains the Congressional Daily Digest from 1994 to present.

govinfo
--Contains the Congressional Record Index from 1983 to present.

govinfo
--Contains Congressional Reports from 104th Congress (1995/1996) to the present.

govinfo
--Contains the Federal Register from 1936 to the present.

U.S. Congressional Research Service, May 4, 2021 (IG10005) [2 pgs]

--The Government Accountability Office supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.

--The core mission of Keeping America Informed, dates back to 1813 when Congress determined to make information regarding the work of the three branches of Government available to all Americans. The GPO provides publishing & dissemination services for the official & authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, & the American public.

govinfo
--Contains the History of Bills from the 98th Congress (1983/1984) to the present.

--The Library's mission is to support the Congress in fulfilling its constitutional duties and to further the progress of knowledge and creativity for the benefit of the American people.

govinfo
--The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.

govinfo
----The United States Statutes at Large is the collection of laws passed by the United States Congress, in chronological order.
v. 65 (1951) [82nd Cong.] to v. 127 (2013) [113th Cong., 1st Sess.]

Library of Congress, Law Library
v. 1-63/64 [1st-81st Cong.] (1789-1949/1950)

--The House of Representatives is one of Congress’s two chambers (the other is the U.S. Senate), and part of the federal government’s legislative branch. The number of voting representatives in the House is fixed by law at no more than 435, proportionally representing the population of the 50 states.

House of Representatives

House of Representatives
--A current listing of all the members of the House of Representatives

House of Representatives
--The majority party members and the minority party members meet separately to select their leaders. Independents will generally join one of the larger party organizations to receive committee assignments. A party caucus or conference is the name given to a meeting of or organization of all party members in the House. During these meetings, party members discuss matters of concern.

House of Representatives
--Current Holder: Vacant

House of Representatives
--Current holders: Steve Scalise (R)

House of Representatives
--Current holder: Tom Emmer (R)

House of Representatives
--Current Holder: Hakeem Jeffries (D)

House of Representatives
--Current holder: Katherine Clark (D)

govinfo
Contains the House Practice for the 104th, 108th, 112th, and 115th Congress

House of Representatives

govinfo
--Contains the House Rules and Manual from the 104th Congress (1995/1996) to present.

govinfo
--Contains the Journal of the House of Representatives from 1992-present.

House of Representatives

House of Representatives

govinfo
--Precedents of the U.S. House of Representatives (2017 series)
--Deschler's Precedents (1936-2013)
--Cannon's Precedents (1907-1936)
--Hinds' Precedents (1789-1907)

House of Representatives
--Searchable database

Senate
--A current listing of all the members of the Senate.

Senate
--Listed are the current leadership and officers for the 118th Congress.

Senate
--Background and history of leadership positions in the Senate.

Senate

govinfo
--This Senate document contains the contemporary precedents and practices of the Senate. An appendix contains suggested forms for various procedures, e.g., offering motions or filing conference reports. It is updated periodically by the Senate Parliamentarian.

Senate
--Current holder: Charles Schumer (D)

Senate
--Current holder: Dick Durbin (D)

The Senate Manual, prepared during the second session of each Congress by the Senate Committee on Rules and Administration, contains the standing rules, orders, laws, and resolutions affecting the Senate, as well as copies of historical U.S. documents, such as Jefferson's Manual, Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Constitution of the United States, et cetera. and selected statistical information on the Senate and other Government entities.

Senate
--Current holders: Mitch McConnell (R)

Senate
--Current holder: John Thune (R)

Senate
--Current holder: Patty Murray (D)

Senate
--The Senate divides its tasks among 20 permanent committees, four joint committees, and occasionally temporary committees. Gives membership & assignments, hearings & meetings, and history of committees.