Gov Docs: Federal: Judiciary

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

Supreme Court of the United States
--Biographical synopsis of the current Supreme Court Justices, as well as justices from 1789 to present.

United States Courts
--Find a federal court location by location or court name, including appellate, district, bankruptcy, probation and pretrial office, or federal defender organization.

U.S. White House
--Information about the Judicial Branch located at the White House Web site

usa.gov
--The judicial branch interprets the meaning of laws, applies laws to individual cases, and decides if laws violate the Constitution. It is comprised of the Supreme Court and other federal courts.

--The Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress. The number of Associate Justices is currently fixed at eight (28 U. S. C. §1). Power to nominate the Justices is vested in the President of the United States, and appointments are made with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Supreme Court of the United States
--The Supreme Court's docket system contains information about cases, both pending and decided, that have been filed at the Court. The docket provided here contains complete information regarding the status of cases filed since the beginning of the 2001 Term.

govinfo
--Contains Supreme Court Nomination Hearings from 1971 to the present. Hearings are listed alphabetically by last name of the Supreme Court Justice being nominated.

Supreme Court of the United States
--A central location to find the most recent Supreme Court Opinions

--The United States Court of International Trade, established under Article III of the Constitution, has nationwide jurisdiction over civil actions arising out of the customs and international trade laws of the United States.

--The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the federal judicial system. It was established by Congress in 1967 (28 U.S.C. §§ 620-629), on the recommendation of the Judicial Conference of the United States. This Web site contains the results of research collected on federal court operations, procedures and court history.

HeinOnline (Access limited to U. of South Alabama community only.)
--Contains United States Reports Preliminary Prints, United States Report Slip Opinions and U.S. Reports

Library of Congress
--Guide to the publications by and concerning nominees to the Supreme Court from 2005 to the present, including nomination and other congressional documents.