LibGuides at USA: Gov Docs: Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day: Home

FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY

The University of South Alabama (USA) Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.

DOCUMENTS LINKS

LIBRARY LINKS

Marx Library Homepage
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.
Library Hours

GOV DOCS RESOURCES

Pearl Harbor

The Japanese Attacked Pearl Harbor December 7, 1941

President Franklin Roosevelt called December 7, 1941, "a date which will live in infamy." On that day, Japanese planes attacked the United States Naval Base at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii Territory. The bombing killed more than 2,300 Americans. It completely destroyed the American battleship U.S.S. Arizona and capsized the U.S.S. Oklahoma. The attack sank or beached a total of twelve ships and damaged nine others. 160 aircraft were destroyed and 150 others damaged. The attack took the country by surprise, especially the ill-prepared Pearl Harbor base.

Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day: Web Pages

***National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day, December 7, 2021***
U.S. Census Bureau
After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor
---"After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor presents approximately twelve hours of opinions recorded in the days and months following the bombing of Pearl Harbor from more than two hundred individuals in cities and towns across the United States."
Attack on Pearl Harbor
U.S. National Archives, Center for Legislative Archives
Damage Report for Ships after Pearl Harbor Attack
U.S. Naval History and Heritage Command
Day of Infamy Address
U.S. National Archives, Center for Legislative Archives
--President Roosevelt's "Day of Infamy" Address, December 8, 1941; Records of the U.S. Senate (Record Group 46)
Japan, China, the United States and the Road to Pearl Harbor, 1937-41
U.S. Dept. of State, Office of the Historian
Milestones: 1937 - 1945 series
Joint Address to Congress Leading to a Declaration of War Against Japan (1941)
---"On December 8, 1941, the day after the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor, President Franklin Roosevelt delivered this "Day of Infamy Speech." Immediately afterward, Congress declared war, and the United States entered World War II."
Joint Committee on the Investigation of the Pearl Harbor Attack
U.S. Senate
--The creation of the Joint Committee on the Investigation of the Pearl Harbor Attack allowed the nation to understand the causes of the lack of preparation leading to the war in the Pacific.
Overview of the Pearl Harbor Attack, 7 December 1941
U.S. Naval History and Heritage Command
Pearl Harbor
(Holocaust Encyclopedia)
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
Pearl Harbor
U.S. Library of Congress
--Results of a search for photos on "Pearl Harbor".
Pearl Harbor, National Memorial Hawai'i
U.S. National Park Service
Pearl Harbor: Photos and Multipedia
U.S. National Park Service
--Contemporary photos, Historic photos, Video archive and Audio archive.
The Pearl Harbor Attack
U.S. National Park Service
Pearl Harbor Attack, December 7, 1941 -- 80th [sic] Anniversary (2011)
Hot Topics Guide by Carlos Diaz
Pearl Harbor Attack: 7 December 1941
U.S. Naval History and Heritage Command
--Naval History and Heritage Command historian Robert J. Cressman answers questions about the attack on Pearl Harbor and the historical impact in a series of video sound bites.
Pearl Harbor Attack [NH 83109]
U.S. Naval History and Heritage Command
--Chart showing the positions of ships inside Pearl Harbor at the time of the Japanese Attack, at about 0800 on 7 December.
Pearl Harbor by the Numbers
U.S. Naval History and Heritage Command
-- An infographic depicting the impact of the attack on Pearl Harbor Dec. 7, 1941.
Pearl Harbor Primary Sources & Teaching Activities
U.S. National Archives
--Blog about using primary sources to learn about history.
Pearl Harbor Raid
U.S. Naval History and Heritage Command
--Photographs of the raid and its aftermath.
The Road to Pearl Harbor: The United States and East Asia, 1915 - 1941
EDSITEment!
--4 lessons curriculum unit, grades 9-12
National Endowment for the Humanities

Government Documents Librarian & Depository Coordinator

Vicki Tate

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Library RM 222
University of South Alabama
5901 USA Dr. N.
Mobile, AL 36688

251-460-7024

Subjects: Government Documents

LibGuide Information

This LibGuide was originally created by Paula Webb and is currently being updated by Vicki Tate. If you have any questions regarding content, email: vtate@southalabama.edu

Last major revision: May 2020

Gov Docs: Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day: Home