Federal Depository Library

The University of South Alabama Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
ABOUT OUR DEPARTMENT
African American History
- African American History @ NPS
- African American History Collection @ Library of Congress
- African American History Month @ Library of CongressThe Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
- African American Mosaic @ Library of CongressA Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture.
- African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full CitizenshipThe exhibition The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship, showcases the incomparable African American collections of the Library of Congress.
- African American Research Introduction and Links to Resources @ National Archives
- African Americans in Military History
- Black Americans in CongressThis Web site, based on the book Black Americans in Congress, 1870–2007, contains biographical profiles of former African-American Members of Congress, links to information about current black Members, essays on institutional and national events that shaped successive generations of African Americans in Congress, and images of each individual Member, supplemented by other historical photos.
- Black History @ National Archives
- Black History Month @ National Endowment for the HumanitiesFebruary’s Black History Month is the perfect time to investigate the tremendous contributions that African Americans have made to the history and cultural development of the United States. In this feature, teachers, parents, and students will be introduced to a few of the most influential voices and the most memorable images from African American history, art, and literature.
- Federick Douglass Virtual Museum @ NPSThis exhibit showcases Frederick Douglass' life at Cedar Hill, Anacostia, Southeast Washington, D.C., his last home. He lived here from 1878 until his death in 1895.
- Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil RightsSince its inception in 1957, the United States Commission on Civil Rights has been at the forefront of efforts by the Federal Government and state governments to examine and resolve issues related to race, ethnicity, religion and, more recently, sexual orientation.
- History of African Americans in the Civil War @ NPSApproximately 180,000 African Americans comprising 163 units served in the Union Army during the Civil War, and many more African Americans served in the Union Navy. Both free African-Americans and runaway slaves joined the fight.
- Legends of TuskegeeWho are the Legends of Tuskegee and what do they have in common? Booker Taliafero Washington, George Washington Carver and the Tuskegee Airmen all came to Tuskegee and created their own legends. Tuskegee is more than a town located in Macon County, Alabama. It is an idea and an ideal. It was a bold experiment and a site of major African-American achievements for over 100 years.
- The Black Population (2000) @ CensusCensus 2000 showed that the United States population on April 1, 2000 was 281.4 million. Of the total, 36.4 million, or 12.9 percent, reported1 Black or African American.
- The FBI Papers on Martin Luther King Jr. @ Federal Bureau of Investigation
- The Frederick Douglass Papers @ Library of CongressThe Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress presents the papers of the nineteenth-century African-American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his own freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher.
- The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseThe Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database is the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world. The Voyages website itself is the product of two years of development by a multi-disciplinary team of historians, librarians, curriculum specialists, cartographers, computer programmers, and web designers, in consultation with scholars of the slave trade from universities in Europe, Africa, etc.
American History
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation @ Library of CongressBeginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.
- American Memory @ Library of Congress
- American State Papers @ Library of CongressThe American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817.
- Democratic National Political Conventions 1832 - 2008The Democratic convention of 1832, held on May 21 - 22 in Baltimore, is notable as the convention where the Democratic Party formally adopted its present name. The party had previously been known as “Republican Delegates from the Several States.” The convention nominated President Andrew Jackson for a second term and nominated Martin Van Buren of New York for vice president.
- Diplomat History @ State Department
- FBI HistoryOn July 26, 2008, the FBI celebrated its 100th anniversary as an intelligence agency and national security organization and a century of service to the American people.
- Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil RightsSince its inception in 1957, the United States Commission on Civil Rights has been at the forefront of efforts by the Federal Government and state governments to examine and resolve issues related to race, ethnicity, religion and, more recently, sexual orientation.
- History, Arts and Culture @ USA.gov
- Legislative Source Book @ the Law Librarians' Society of Washington D.C.
- NASA History Division
- NASA History DivisionSince its inception in 1958, NASA has accomplished many great scientific and technological feats in air and space. NASA technology also has been adapted for many nonaerospace uses by the private sector.
- National Register of Historic Places
- Naval History and HeritageWhether you visit one of the twelve official U.S. Navy Museums, take advantage of public programs and publications, or seek knowledge through the artifacts, documents, images and artwork available at the NHHC, you will find that this is where the history, legacy and traditions of the United States Navy come alive.
- Office of History @ National Institute of HealthThe Office of History, National Institutes of Health exists to advance historical understanding of biomedical research within the NIH and the world. Through preserving records of significant NIH achievements, innovative exhibits, educational programs, and training researchers from multiple disciplines, the Office of History explores the past to enhance present understanding of the health sciences and the NIH.
- Office of the Historian @ U.S. Department of State
- Outline of U.S. HistoryA chronological look at how the United States took shape -- from its origins as an obscure set of colonies on the Atlantic coast a little more than 200 years ago into what one political analyst today calls "the first universal nation." This fully illustrated edition has been completely revised and updated by Alonzo L. Hamby, Distinguished Professor of History at Ohio University.
- Prologue Magazine, created by the National ArchivesPrologue magazine brings readers stories based on the rich holdings and programs of the National Archives across the nation—from Washington, DC, to the regional archives and the Presidential libraries.
- Republican National Political Conventions 1856-2008The first Republican convention was held June 17 - 19, 1856 in Philadelphia amid a growing sense in the nation that civil war was inevitable. The Republican Party was formed two years earlier in response to the increasing importance of the slavery issue and its opposition to slavery’s expansion. This new party nominated John C. Fremont of California for president.
- The Formation of Political Parties @ National Archives
- The National Archives
- The National Archives Experience
- The Political GraveyardThe Internet's Most Comprehensive Source of U.S. Political Biography,or, The Web Site That Tells Where the Dead Politicians are Buried
- The United States Statutes at LargeThe United States Statutes at Large, commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Publication began in 1845 by the private firm of Little, Brown and Company under authority granted by a joint resolution of Congress. In 1874, Congress transferred the authority to publish the Statutes at Large to the Government Printing Office, which has been responsible for producing the set since that time.
- The Valley of the Shadow : two communities in the American Civil War
- U.S. Army Center of Military History
- United States Serial Set @ Library of CongressThe United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 may be found in the American State Papers.
- Veterans History Project @ Library of Congress
- Women's History Month @ Library of CongressThe Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of women whose commitment to nature and the planet have proved invaluable to society.
Census
- Census of Population and Housing 1790 - 2000Census of Population and Housing data present here ranges from our most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical census information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical census records become available. For access to volumes not available through this project, please call your local Federal Depository Library.
- Factfinder for the Nation: History and OrganizationFactfinding is one of America’s oldest activities. In the early 1600s, a census was taken in Virginia, and people were counted in nearly all of the British colonies that became the United States at the time of the Revolutionary War.
- Historical Census Browser @ University of Virginia
- History @ Census.gov
- Native Americans in the Census, 1860–1890An examination of the annual census records from 1860 to 1890 shows the beginnings of the enumeration of Native Americans in the census. Article I, section 2, of the Constitution requires a census to be taken every 10 years so that seats in the House of Representatives can be apportioned among the states. Section 2 excludes "Indians not taxed"—those Indians living on reservations or those roaming in unsettled areas of the country.
- Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts (1990) @ Census
- The Black Population (2000) @ CensusCensus 2000 showed that the United States population on April 1, 2000 was 281.4 million. Of the total, 36.4 million, or 12.9 percent, reported1 Black or African American.
Civil War
- A brief Naval Chronology of the Civil War (1861-65)
- A brief Naval Chronology of the Civil War (1861-65) @ Naval Historical Center
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation @ Library of CongressBeginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.
- Abraham Lincoln A Resource Guide @ Library of CongressThe digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Abraham Lincoln, including the complete Abraham Lincoln Papers from the Manuscript Division.
- Black Soldiers in the Civil War @ Library of CongressThe issues of emancipation and military service were intertwined from the onset of the Civil War. News from Fort Sumter set off a rush by free black men to enlist in U.S. military units.
- Civil War and Reconstruction, 1861-1877 @ Library of Congress
- Civil War Battle Summaries by StateBattle names appearing in blue denote a Union victory; butternut denotes a Confederate victory; green denotes an indecisive action. State names link to maps showing battlefield locations by county.
- Civil War Battle Summaries by StateBattle names appearing in blue denote a Union victory; butternut denotes a Confederate victory; green denotes an indecisive action.
State names link to maps showing battlefield locations by county. - Civil War Medal of Honor Recipients @ U.S. Army Center of Military History
- Civil War Records @ National Archives
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System @ NPSThis database serves as a starting point for relatives and researchers as they begin to piece together individual experiences of participants in this watershed event in American history. It documents the service and the lives of people of African descent who served in the U.S. Navy.
- Document for July 18th: Casualty List of the 54th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment from the Assault on Fort Wagner, South Carolina, 07/18/1863The 54th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment was one of the most celebrated regiments of black soldiers that fought in the Civil War. Known simply as "the 54th," this regiment became famous after the heroic, but ill-fated, assault on Fort Wagner, South Carolina in July, 1863. Leading the direct assault under heavy fire, the 54th suffered enormous casualties before being forced to withdraw.
- Gettysburg National Military Park @ NPSThe Battle of Gettysburg was a turning point in the Civil War, the Union victory in the summer of 1863 that ended General Robert E. Lee's second and most ambitious invasion of the North. Often referred to as the "High Water Mark of the Rebellion", it was the war's bloodiest battle with 51,000 casualties. It also provided President Abraham Lincoln with the setting for his most famous address.
- History of African Americans in the Civil War @ NPSApproximately 180,000 African Americans comprising 163 units served in the Union Army during the Civil War, and many more African Americans served in the Union Navy. Both free African-Americans and runaway slaves joined the fight.
- History of Mapping the Civil War @ Library of CongressWar, like necessity, has been called the mother of invention. The same might be said of cartography, for with every war there is a great rush to produce maps to aid in understanding the nature of the land over which armies will move and fight, to plan engagements and the deployment of troops, and to record victories for posterity to study and admire. The American Civil War is a classic example of the effect that war has had on cartography
- Intelligence in the Civil War @ CIA
- Journal of the Congress of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865 U.S. Serial Set, Numbers 4610 to 4616The Journal of the Congress of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865 was printed in a seven-volume set between 1904 and 1905 as Senate Document No. 234 of the U.S. Serial Set, 58th Congress, 2nd session. A Senate Resolution dated January 28, 1904, directed the secretary of war, Elihu Root, to transmit to the U.S. Senate a copy of the Journal of the Provisional Congress and of the 1st and 2nd Congresses of the Confederate States of America.
- Lincoln's Nomination of Grant @ National ArchivesThe secession of eleven Southern states in 1861 plunged the nation into Civil War pitting the Confederate states against the Union. Nearly three years later the war raged on with no end in sight. President Abraham Lincoln and Congress, frustrated by the failures of their military leaders, needed to find a commander who could lead the Union to victory.
- National Park Service Civil War WebsiteThe approaching 150th Anniversary of the American Civil War (2011-2015) offers the current generation of Americans a most important opportunity to know, discuss, and commemorate this country's greatest national crisis, while at the same time exploring its enduring relevance in the 21st century.
- Research in Military Records: Civil War
- Selected Civil War Photographs @ Library of CongressThe Selected Civil War Photographs Collection contains 1,118 photographs. Most of the images were made under the supervision of Mathew B. Brady, and include scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. The collection also includes portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men.
- Selected Civil War Photographs @ Library of CongressThe Selected Civil War Photographs Collection contains 1,118 photographs. Most of the images were made under the supervision of Mathew B. Brady, and include scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. The collection also includes portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men.
- The Hotchkiss Map Collection @ LOCThe Hotchkiss Map Collection contains cartographic items made by Major Jedediah Hotchkiss (1828-1899), a topographic engineer in the Confederate Army. Hotchkiss made detailed battle maps primarily of the Shenandoah Valley, some of which were used by the Generals Robert E. Lee and Thomas J. "Stonewall" Jackson for their combat planning and strategy.
- The War of the Rebellion : a compilation of the official records of the Union and Confederate ArmiesContains the formal reports, both Union and Confederate, of the first seizures of United States property in the Southern States, and of all military operations in the field, with the correspondence, orders, and returns relating specially thereto, and, as proposed is to be accompanied by an Atlas.
- U.S. Civil War: Selected Resources @ LOCThis guide is a compilation of many of the Civil War resources at the Library of Congress, along with links to selected resources outside the Library. The resources are organized by format. The purpose of this guide is to present researchers with selected sources through which they can begin and expand their scope of study of the American Civil War. It is not meant to serve as an exhaustive source for Civil War sources accessible through the Library of Congress.
- Vicksburg National Military Park @ NPSThe park commemorates the campaign, siege, and defense of Vicksburg. The city's surrender on July 4, 1863, along with the capture of Port Hudson, LA, on July 8, split the South, giving control of the Mississippi River to the Union. Over 1,340 monuments, a restored Union gunboat, and National Cemetery mark the 16-mile tour road.
Colonial History
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation @ Library of CongressBeginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.
- American State Papers @ Library of CongressThe American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817.
- Colonial FashionWhile 17th-century colonial dress was influenced by the fashionably excessive European styles of the time, New England Puritans viewed the flamboyant fashion as disorderly. The court established sumptuary laws to enforce a modest and conservative style of dress among all inhabitants of the colony. Archaeologists found evidence of colonial fashion through items unearthed such as a piece of a comb made of bone and copper shoe buckles.
- Pictorial Americana Settlement and Colonial Life @ Library of Congress
- Rangers in the Colonial and Revolutionary AmericaThe origin of the ranger tradition lies in the seventeenth century wars between colonists and Native American tribes. In the original concept rangers were full-time soldiers employed by the colonial governments to "range" between fixed frontier fortifications as a reconnaissance system to provide early warning of hostile raids. In offensive operations they became scouts and guides, locating targets (such as villages) for task forces drawn from the militia or other colonial troops.
- The George Washington Papers at the Library of CongressTime Line: The Colonial Period
- The Writings of George Washington @ The University of VirginiaThe Writings of George Washington from the Original Manuscript Sources 1745-1799 Edited by John C. Fitzpatrick (1931-44)
Presidental History & Libraries
- A New Nation Votes @ Tufts University Digital Collections and ArchivesA New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online for you with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
- Abraham Lincoln Papers @ Library of CongressThe complete Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 20,000 documents. The collection is organized into three "General Correspondence" series which include incoming and outgoing correspondence and enclosures, drafts of speeches, and notes and printed material.
- Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
- Dwight D. Eisenhower Library
- Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidental Library and Museum
- George Bush Presidential Library and Museum
- George W. Bush Presidental Library
- Gerald R. Ford Presidental Library and Museum
- Harry S. Truman Library and Museum
- Herbert Hoover Presidental Library and Museum
- Jimmy Carter Library and Museum
- John F. Kennedy Presidental Library and Museum1st Online Presidential Archive
- LBJ Library and Museum
- Ronald Regan Presidental Library Archives
- The Presidents @ the Whitehouse.gov
- William J. Clinton Presidental Library and Museum
World War I
- A Guide to World War I MaterialsThe digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to World War I, including photographs, documents, newspapers, films, sheet music, and sound recordings.
- World War 1 @ Eleanor Roosevelt National Historic Site
- World War 1 Metal of Honor Recipients
- World War 1 Resources @ National Archives
World War II
- Navajo Code Talkers: World War II Fact SheetGuadalcanal, Tarawa, Peleliu, Iwo Jima: the Navajo code talkers took part in every assault the U.S. Marines conducted in the Pacific from 1942 to 1945. They served in all six Marine divisions, Marine Raider battalions and Marine parachute units, transmitting messages by telephone and radio in their native language a code that the Japanese never broke.
- Pearl Harbor Raid, 7 December 1941 Overview and Special Image SelectionThe 7 December 1941 Japanese raid on Pearl Harbor was one of the great defining moments in history. A single carefully-planned and well-executed stroke removed the United States Navy's battleship force as a possible threat to the Japanese Empire's southward expansion. America, unprepared and now considerably weakened, was abruptly brought into the Second World War as a full combatant.
- Pictures of WW II @ National ArchivesThe Second World War was documented on a huge scale by thousands of photographers and artists who created millions of pictures. American military photographers representing all of the armed services covered the battlefronts around the world.
Government Documents |
Subjects: Government Documents, Alabama Documents, Legal Reference, Social Networking Technologies, Web 2.0 Job title: Reference & Electronic Resources Government Documents Librarian |



Loading...
