Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY
The University of South Alabama (USA) Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.
Emancipation Proclamation Web Resources
150th Anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation
National Archives and Records Administration, 2013
(Emancipation Proclamation Commemorative Coloring Book)
--A simple book about the creation of the Emancipation Proclamation and a way to teach children about the historical document.
150th Anniversary of the Emancipation Proclmation at the National Archives
Brochure [8 pgs] about preserving the actual document of The Emancipation Proclamation, with the transcript of its content.
Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress
Contains a short introduction, a timeline and a photo gallery of the Emancipation Proclamation
Emancipation Proclamation (1863)
National Archives and Records Administration
A page by page outline and description of the Emancipation Proclaimation.
Emancipation Proclamation: Topics in Chronicling America
Library of Congress
This guide provides access to material related to "Emancipation Proclamation" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers.
Juneteenth: Fact Sheet
by Erin M. Smith
U.S. Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service
CRS Report R44865 (vers. 23, June 21, 2021) [10 pgs]
--Juneteenth celebrates the end of slavery in the United States. It is also known as Emancipation
Day, Juneteenth Independence Day, and Black Independence Day
The Meaning and Making of Emancipation
"This eBook presents the Emancipation Proclamation in its social and political context with documents in the National Archives' holdings that illustrate the efforts of the many Americans, enslaved and free, white and black, by whom slavery was abolished in the United States. It was created to commemorate the 150th Anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation."
--special software required to download EPUB
Presidential Proclamation -- 150th Anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation
White House (Obama), Dec. 31, 2012
President Obama, the first African American President of the United States, declares January 1, 2013 as the 150th Anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation
Emanicipation Proclaimation: Library Resources
Government Documents Librarian & Depository Coordinator
This LibGuide was originally created by Paula Webb and is currently being updated by Vicki Tate. If you have any questions regarding content, email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Last revision: 5/5/20