Gov Docs: HY 432: Colonial America: Government Resources

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

Links to federal government web sites on the American colonial history.

Links to books or series of books available on the web on the topic of the American colonial history. Some titles may also be available in paper format in the Government Documents collections.

Reference books and large sets of books about colonial America available in the Government Documents collections.

Books available for check-out in the Government Documents collections.

Library of Congress -- Published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, & title.

Library of Congress

Library of Congress -- First-person narratives, early histories, historical biographies, promotional brochures, and books of photographs.

Library of Congress -- Primary source sets for teachers (Jamestown and Thanksgiving)

National Archives / Founding Fathers Project -- Over 15,000 documents available for the colonial period.

Library of Congress

Library of Congress

Library of Congress
Pt. 1: America as a Religious Refuge: The Seventeenth Century
Pt. 2: Religion in Eighteenth-Century America

Library of Congress / American Memory -- contains just over a hundred pamphlets and books (published between 1772 and 1889) concerning the experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the U.S.

Library of Congress

National Park Service, 2007
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookstacks (2nd Floor South)
I 1.116: AM 3/SPEC.ISS.

Library of Congress

by Frederick R. Black
U.S. Dept. of Interior, National Park Service, 1983
(Cultural Resource Management Study, no. 7)

by James H. Hutson
Library of Congress, 1998
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookstacks (2nd Floor South)

Comp. by Donal H. Cresswell
Library of Congress, 1975
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
LC 1.2:AM 3/9

Library of Congress, 1906
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
LC 4.2:W 27/3

Library of Congress, 1915
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
LC 4.2:W 27/4/v.1-4

Marx Library Microforms Index table (2nd FL South)
Z 1236 .L5 1971
--Index to LAC collection

compiled by Ronald M. Gephart
Library of Congress, 1984
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
LC 1.12/2:R 32/4/763-789/v.1-2

Jamestown 400th Commemoration Commission, 2009
Univ Lib Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
Y 3.2:J 23/AN 7

by Parker C. Thompson
Univ Lib Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
D 101.2:C 36/5/V.1

edited by Edward M. Riley and Charles E. Hatch, Jr
National Park Service, 1955
Univ Lib Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
I 29.50:5/2

by Charles E. Hatch, Jr.
National Park Service, 1957
Univ Lib Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
I 29.58:2/957