Gov Docs: Native Americans & Diabetes: Home

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

U.S. Indian Health Services

U.S. Indian Health Services, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2012 [2 pgs]
--Answers basic diabetes questions.

U.S. Indian Health Services, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2012 [1 pg]
--A printable worksheet to help keep track of Blood Sugar Goals.

CDC Vital Signs (Jan. 2017) [4 pgs]

--This Website focuses specifically on Diabetes Treatment and Prevention for Native America.

U.S. Indian Health Services
HEALTH FOR NATIVE LIFE, no 10, pg. 16-27 (2012)
--Provides Guidelines for healthy eating away from home.

U.S. Indian Health Services
HEALTH FOR NATIVE LIFE, no 1, pg. 20-21 (2012)
--Provides information about healthy eating while traveling.

U.S. Indian Health Services
HEALTH FOR NATIVE LIFE, no 10, pg. 11-13 (2012)
--Information on managing diabetes and food portions.

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2015 [2 pgs]
--Created to help patients improve their health. Evaluates food insecurity and provides them with resources to get more healthy food.

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2015 [1 pgs]

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2012 [1 pgs]

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2012 [1 pgs]

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2018 [2 pgs]
--A visually informative resource on portion control.

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Native Diabetes Wellness Program
--A compendium of stories from the Indigenous food sovereignty movement in American Indian and Alaska Native communities.
Part I—Traditional Foods in Native America (2013) [48 pgs]
Part II—Good Food is Power (2014) [24 pgs]
Part III—Compendium of Traditional Foods Stories (2015) [67 pgs]
Part IV—Traditional Foods in Native America (2015) [77 pgs]
Part V—Traditional Foods in Native America (2018) [64 pgs]

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2014 [2 pgs]
--Educational information about whole grains.

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2013 [1 pgs]
--Contains a recipe adapted for healthy eating.

U.S. Indian Health Services
HEALTH FOR NATIVE LIFE, no 14, pg. 36-43 (2010)
--Article about changing lifestyles and losing weight.

U.S. Indian Health Services
HEALTH FOR NATIVE LIFE, no. 12, pg.26-28 (2008)

U.S. Indian Health Services
HEALTH FOR NATIVE LIFE, no 10, pg. 5-10 (2008)

U.S. Indian Health Services
HEALTH FOR NATIVE LIFE, no 13, pg. 24-28 (2009)

U.S. National Institute on Aging

MedlinePlus

U.S. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDKD)
--Provides advice on healthy eating & physical activity.

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
--Helpful information about exercise.

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2017 [2 pg]

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2017 [2 pg]

U.S. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDKD)

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention, 2013 [1 pg]
--Tool to help you plan your weight loss goals.

U.S. National Institute on Aging, 2015 [24 pgs]
--A sample exercise routine from the National Institute on Aging at NIH