Gov Docs: AN 340: Native American Cultures: Government Resources

1789-1932
--Searchable database for full-text U.S. government documents.

1789-1969
--Searchable database for full-text congressional government documents.

Rice University (TX), Fondren Library

National Indian Law Library (Boulder, CO)

U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services, Adm. for Children & Families
--ACF is committed to working with tribal nations and Indigenous communities across the United States to improve the economic and social well-being of children and families. ACF oversees more than 60 programs that empower families and communities, improve access to an array of services, and build strong and healthy communities.

Dept. of Health & Human Services, Office of the Administration for Children & Families
---ANA promotes self-sufficiency for Native Americans by providing discretionary grant funding for community based projects, and training and technical assistance to eligible tribes and native organizations.

U.S. Dept. of the Interior
---Provides services to 566 federally-recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Natives in the United States.

U.S. Dept. of the Interior
---Provide educational opportunities for eligible American Indian and Alaska native elementary, secondary, and post-secondary students from federally-recognized tribes.

National Archives, Federal Register
--Indian entities recognized by and eligible to receive services from the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs

Naval History & Heritage Command

U.S. Dept. of Interior
---Promotes the economic development of American Indians and Alaska Natives through the expansion of the Indian arts and crafts market.

U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services
---Oversees federal health programs for American Indians and Alaskan Natives.

National Archives
---Listing of web sites on NARA Resources, NPS Resources, Digital Collections, Genealogical Resources, Historical Background, Laws & Treaties, and Tribal Resources.

Smithsonian
--The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego. The museum on the National Mall in Washington, DC, offers exhibition galleries and spaces for performances, lectures and symposia, research, and education.

Smithsonian
---Institution of living cultures, dedicated to the collection, preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of the native peoples of the Americas.

U.S. Dept. of Education
--NALC supports the instruction of Native languages. It provides access to Hawaiian, American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) language services and products. These include guidance, resources and best practices for educators, as well as research, curricula and instructional strategies for language teachers and learners, researchers, and Tribal leaders.

U.S. Army. Center for Military History
---Historical information, including information on Native American Medal of Honor recipients and Navajo Code Talkers in WWII.

U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Elementary & Secondary Education
---The purpose of OIE is to meet the unique educational and culturally related academic needs of Indian students, so that such students can meet the challenging State academic standards; to ensure that Indian students gain knowledge and understanding of Native communities, languages, Tribal histories, traditions, and cultures; and to ensure that teachers, principals, other school leaders, and other staff who serve Indian students have the ability to provide culturally appropriate and effective instruction and supports to such students.

U.S. Dept. of the Interior
---Oversees the management of Indian funds held in trust by the federal government.

U.S. Dept. of Justice
---The purpose of the OTJ is to serve as the program and legal policy advisor to the Attorney General with respect to the treaty and trust relationship between the United States and Indian tribes and as the point of contact for federally recognized tribal governments and tribal organizations with respect to questions and comments regarding policies and programs of the Department and issues relating to public safety and justice in Indian country.

U.S. Congress.
---This committee has the duty "to conduct a study of any and all matters pertaining to problems and opportunities of Indians, including but not limited to, Indian land management and trust responsibilities, Indian education, health, special services, and loan programs, and Indian claims against the United States"

(Indian Reading Series: Stories and Legends of the Northwest; Level 2, Bk. 19)
National Institute of Education, Pacific Northwest Indian Reading and Language Development Program, c. 1978 [18 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookstacks (2nd Floor South)
ED 1.319:2/19

Smithsonian, 1971
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookstacks (2nd Floor South)
SI 2.3:200

by Frances Joan Mathien
National Park Service, 2005

U.S. Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs, 2011 [100 pgs]

(CRS Report, R44258)
Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, Oct. 25, 2022 [4 pgs]

U.S. Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs, 2003 [107 pgs]

Naval History & Heritage Command
--Rev. June 15, 1945

U.S. Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs, 2013 [51 pgs]

ERIC digest ; EDO-RC-01-12

---For statistical information on Native America Indians, see the "Native Americans" tab of the SY 410 Populations LibGuide.

U.S. Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs, 2011 [96 pgs]

by Peter Nabokov and Lawrence Loendorf
U.S. National Park Service, 2002
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
I 29.2:IN 2/20

U.S. Census Bureau, 1967
Marx Lib Gov Docs, Map Cabinets (2nd FL South)
--Shelved in the United States Map Drawer as C 3.62/4:14
Locations of Indian reservations as of 1960.

Smithsonian Institution
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 2.1:1879/80-1929/30 (1st-47th)

Smithsonian Institution [1903-1971]
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 2.3: For specific holdings, see SOUTHcat

(Cultural Resource Series ; #15)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 2011
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
I 49.111:15

(Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology; no. 27)
Smithsonian Institution, 1981
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 1.33:27/pt.1-2

(National Atlas)
U.S. Dept. of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, 1991
Marx Library Gov Docs Map Cabinets (2nd FL South)
--Shelved in the "United States" drawer as I 19.111/a: 38077-AS-NA-07 M-00

U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1974
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
I 20.2:F 31/2/974

ed. by Frederick Webb Hodge
Smithsonian, Bureau of American Ethnology, 1907-1910
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 2.3:30/v.1-2

Smithsonian Institution
Marx Lib Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL North)
SI 1.20/2:v. 2-15, 17
Marx Library Bookstacks (3rd FL North)
E 77 .H25 v. 2-15, 17

by S. Lyman Tyler
U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1973
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
I 20.2: H 62

Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
I 1.84:
---Series of materials on Indian art and handiwork.

BIA / Smithsonian / USGS, 1993
Marx Lib Gov Docs, Map Cabinets (2nd FL South)
--Shelved in the "United States" drawer as I 20.47:38077-H 1-UG-05 M-19

Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
ED 1.319: Levels 1-6
---Written by local Indian authors and illustrated by Indian artists from the Plains and Northwest, the series comprises 140 stories.

U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1968
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
I 20.51:G 95/968

by John R. Swanton
Smithsonian, Bureau of American Ethnology, 1946
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 2.3:137

by John R. Swanton
Smithsonian, Bureau of American Ethnology, 1911
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 2.3:43

U. S. National Park Service, 1996
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
I 29.2:L 52

U.S. National Park Service, 1990
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
I 29.2:T 71/6

by David I. Bushnell, Jr.
Smithsonian, Bureau of American Ethnology, 1920
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 2.3:71

by David I. Bushnell, Jr
Smithsonian, Bureau of American Ethnology, 1919
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 2.3:69

Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 1.33: For specific holdings, see SOUTHcat

edited by Tim Johnson
Smithsonian Institution Press in association with the National Museum of the American Indian, c1998
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
SI 15.2:SP 4 X

U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1972
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
I 20.2:ST 2/3

Marx Library Docs Reference (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
Doc Ref Z 1223 .Z9 C65 1975
---Index to congressional-related materials from 1789-1969. Good source for materials concerning Indians.

by Steven L. Johnson (1977)
Marx Library Docs Reference (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
Doc Ref KF 8201 .A1 J63

Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler
U.S. Government Printing Office, 1903-1971
Marx Lib Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
I 1.107:v.1-7
--Also available from HeinOnline Database.. Select "Treaties and Agreements Library"

Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler (1972)
Marx Library Docs Reference (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
Doc Ref KF 8203 1972 B

by Charles D. Bernholz (2003)
Marx Library Docs Reference (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
Doc Ref KF 8201 .A1 B47 2003