Federal Depository Library

The University of South Alabama Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
ABOUT OUR DEPARTMENT
Legal
- General Legal Information
- Accidents & Personal Injury
- Adoption
- Animals & Pets
- Arbitration
- Authors & Copyright
- Changing Name
- Constitutional Rights
- Contracts
- Corporations
- Criminal Justice
- Debt & Bankruptcy
- Divorce & Child Custody
- Elder Law
- Employment Law
- Environment
- Family Law
- Healthcare & Disability
- Historical
- Immigration & Naturalization
- Inventions & Patents
- Leasing & Renting
- Legal Research
- Limited Liability Companies
- Medicare & Social Security
- Military
- Money, Investments & Retirement
- Nonprofits
- Parental Rights
- Partnerships
- Real Estate Law & Property Law
- Religion & Law
- Represent Yourself in Court
- Sexual Harrassment
- Small Business Legal Issues
- Special Eduation
- Starting a Business
- Taxes
- Technology Law
- Trademarks
- Traffic Law
- Trusts
General Legal Information
- Acts Cited by Popular NamesU.S.C. 2006th ed. v. 31. An alphabetical list of popular and statutory names of Acts of Congress.
- All LawThe Internet's premiere Law Portal
- American Law Sources On-lineThis link provides a comprehensive, uniform, and useful compilation of links to freely accessible on-line sources of law for the United States and Canada.
- Be SpacificDaily updates on information relating to law.
- Cornell Legal Information InstituteA collection of legal information.
- Court Locator @ uscourts.govAn interactive map used to find courts in the United States.
- EDGAR @ Securities and Exchange Commission
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations @ FDsysThe Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.
- Federal CourtsThe three branches of the federal government — legislative, executive, and judicial — operate within a constitutional system known as "checks and balances." This means that although each branch is formally separate from the other two, the Constitution often requires cooperation among the branches. Federal laws, for example, are passed by Congress and signed by the President.
- Federal Register @ FDsysPublished by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
- Federal Trade CommissionThe FTC deals with issues that touch the economic life of every American. It is the only federal agency with both consumer protection and competition jurisdiction in broad sectors of the economy. The FTC pursues vigorous and effective law enforcement; advances consumers’ interests by sharing its expertise with federal and state legislatures and U.S. and international government agencies; develops policy and research tools through hearings, workshops, and conferences.
- FedLawFedLaw was developed to see if legal resources on the Internet could be a useful and cost-effective research tool for Federal lawyers and other Federal employees. Fedlaw has assembled references of use to people doing Federal legal research and which can be accessed directly through "point and click" hypertext connections.
- FindLawWe provide legal information, lawyer profiles and a community to help you make the best legal decisions.
- Global Legal MonitorThe Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from the Global Legal Information Network, official national legal publications, and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the GLM.
- Google Scholar Advanced Search
- Guide to Law Online @ Library of CongressThe Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
- HeinOnline (USAID)
- Hieros GamosWorldwide Legal Directories
- How our Laws are Made @ Library of Congress
- In Custodia Legis: Law Librarians of Congress Blog
- Jurist @ University of Pittsburgh School of LawLegal News and Research
- Justia.com Virtual Chase
- Law.com
- Laws and Regulations – General Reference Resources @ USA.gov
- Legal Decision @ GAOThe Comptroller General, head of the Government Accountability Office, issues legal decisions and legal opinions on appropriations law, bid protests, and other issues of federal law. The Comptroller General is also required by statute to report to congressional committees about certain federal vacancies and on major rules proposed by federal agencies. The Office of General Counsel is the GAO office responsible for carrying out these functions and issuing decisions, opinions, and reports.
- Legal Services CorporationLSC is the single largest provider of civil legal aid for the poor in the nation. Established in 1974, LSC operates as an independent 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation that promotes equal access to justice and provides grants for high-quality civil legal assistance to low-income Americans.
- LexisNexis.com (USAID)Click on the US Legal tag on the left side of the screen to search for Federal & State Cases, Shepard's Citations, Landmark Cases, Supreme Court Briefs, Federal Statutes, Codes & Regulations, Law Reviews, Legal Reference, Patents and Tax Law
- LLRX.comLegal and technology resources for legal professionals
- Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator
- The European LibraryThe European Library searches the content of European national libraries.
- THOMAS @ Library of CongressTHOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public.
- Thomas.govIn the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress
- U.S. Code @ Cornell University Law SchoolThis version of the U.S. Code is generated from the most recent official version made available by the US House of Representatives. The listing on the House server provides exact currency information.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionThe mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation.
- United States Code Collection
Accidents & Personal Injury
- Accident & Incident Data @ FAA
- Accidents or Unintentional Injuries @ CDC
- Age of Drinking Onset, Driving After Drinking, and Involvement in Alcohol Related Motor Vehicle CrashesUniv Lib Government Documents Bookshelves - TD 8.2: AG 3 X
- Alabama Unemployment and Workers' Compensation Manual
- National Center for Injury Prevention & ControlOur mission is to prevent injuries and violence, and reduce their consequences. We strive to help every American live his or her life to its fullest potential.
- National Transportation Safety Board, Legal Matters
- Nuclear Reactor Accidents @ HHS
- Personal Injury, Division for Public Education @ American Bar AssociationPersonal injury law, also known as tort law, is designed to protect you if you or your property is injured or harmed because of someone else's act or failure to act. In a successful tort action, the one who caused the injury or harm compensates the one who suffered the losses.
- The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)Providing National and World Leadership to Prevent Workplace Illnesses and Injuries
- Transportation: Motor Vehicle Accidents and Fatalities @ Census
- Workers' Compensation @ Alabama Department of Industrial RelationsThe Workers' Compensation Division is responsible for the administration of the Alabama Workers' Compensation Law to ensure proper payment of benefits to employees injured on the job and encourage safety in the work place.
Adoption
- Adoption Expenses Before Coming Home @ Federal Citizen Information Center
- Child Welfare Information Gateway: AdoptionResources on all aspects of domestic and intercountry adoption, including adoption from foster care. Includes information for prospective and adoptive parents; information about searching for birth relatives; and resources for professionals on recruiting adoptive families, preparing children and youth, supporting birth parents, and providing postadoption services.
- How to Make Adoption an Affordable Option @ Federal Citizen Information Center
- Intercountry Adoption @ State Department
- Laws Related to Adoption @ HHS
- Legal Challenges to Adoptions
- Relevant Adoption Laws, Policies, and Legal Considerations @ HHSThis section includes summaries of the legal issues involved in planning for, conducting, and finalizing any type of adoption, including consent to adoption and postadoption contact agreements between birth and adoptive families. It also includes and summaries of legal and court issues involved in adoption.
Animals & Pets
- Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service @ US Department of Agriculture"Protecting American agriculture" is the basic charge of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS). APHIS provides leadership in ensuring the health and care of animals and plants. The agency improves agricultural productivity and competitiveness and contributes to the national economy and the public health.
- Animal Welfare Act
- Animal Welfare Information System @ USDAThe Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) is mandated by the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) to provide information for improved animal care and use in research, testing, teaching, and exhibition.
- City of Mobile Animal Shelter
- Commonly Asked Questions about Service Animals in Places of Business, U.S. Department of Justice
- Office of Animal Care and Use
- Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare @ U.S. Department of Health & Human Resources
- Pet Health, Medline Plus
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Arbitration
- ADA Mediation Program, U.S. Department of JusticeIn 1994, the Department of Justice established the ADA Mediation Program. Initially funded through the ADA Technical Assistance Program, the Mediation Program now operates under a contract with the Key Bridge Foundation.
- Alternative Dispute Resolution A Resource Guide @ U.S. Office of Personnel Management
- Arbitration @ U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
- Bureau of Labor Statistics @ Department of Labor
- Community Relations Service, U.S. Department of Justice
- Department of Labor
- Federal Labor Relations Authority
- Federal Mediation & Conciliation Service
- Interagency Alternative Dispute Resolution Working Group
- National Labor Relations Board
- National Mediation Board
Authors & Copyright
Constitutional Rights
Debt & Bankruptcy
- Access to Bankruptcy and other Court Case Files ca. 1940 - 1998, National Archives
- American Bankruptcy Institute
- Bankruptcy Basics, U.S. Courts
- Bankruptcy Forms, U.S. Courts
- Bankruptcy Resources, U.S. Courts
- Before You File For Bankruptcy: Information About Credit Counseling and Debtor Education
- Bureau of Public Debt, United States Department of Treasury
- Case Management/Electronic Case Files
- Corporate Bankruptcy, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
- Fair Debt Collection, Federal Trade Commission
- Federal Judiciary
- Filing for Bankruptcy Without an Attorney, U.S. Courts
- Home Forclosure and Debt Cancellation, IRS
- National Creditor Registration Service
- Southern District of Alabama, U.S. Bankruptcy Courts
- United States Bankruptcy Courts
Divorce & Child Custody
Employment Law
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, US Department of Labor
- eLaws, US Department of Labor
- Employment Law Guide, US Department of Labor
- Employment Law Resources, Business.gov
- Employment Litigation Section, Civil Rights Division, US Department of Justice
- Federal Laws Prohibiting Job Descrimination, US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
- US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Family Law
- ABA Center on Children and the LawThe ABA Center on Children and the Law, a program of the Young Lawyers Division, aims to improve children's lives through advances in law, justice, knowledge, practice and public policy.
- Commission on Domestic ViolenceFounded in 1994, the mission of the ABA Commission on Domestic Violence ("the Commission") is to increase access to justice for victims of domestic violence, sexual assault and stalking by mobilizing the legal profession.
- Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, US Department of Education
Healthcare & Disability
- A Guide to Disability Rights Law, US Department of Justice
- American with Disabilities Act, Department of Justice
- Benefits for People with Disabilities, Social Security Online
- Competition in the Healthcare Market @ FTCThe Overview of FTC Antitrust Actions in Health Care Services and the Overview of FTC Antitrust Actions in Pharmaceutical Services contain summaries of more than 200 public antitrust actions that the Commission has taken involving competition enforcement in health care markets.
- Disability Resouces, US Department of Labor
- DisablitiyInfo.gov
- Facts about the Americans with Disabities Act, US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
- Food and Drug Administration
- Health Care Antitrust Division @ Department of JusticeThe mission of the Antitrust Division is to promote economic competition through enforcing and providing guidance on antitrust laws and principles.
- Section 508.gov
- United States Access Board
Immigration & Naturalization
- Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration @ State DepartmentThe State Department's Bureau of Population, Refugees and Migration (PRM) provides aid and sustainable solutions for refugees, victims of conflict and stateless people around the world, through repatriation, local integration, and resettlement in the United States.
- Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-born Population of the United States: 1850-1990This working paper was prepared in Population Division with the collaboration of Kay Jung. Special tabulations were provided by Marie Pees. Several reviewers provided useful comments: Larry H. Long, Judy G. Belton, Rosalind R. Bruno, Rodger V. Johnson, Linda B. Kehm, Dianne Schmidley, and Paul M. Siegel.
- The Office of Special Counsel for Immigration-Related Unfair Employment Practices (OSC) @ Department of Justice
- US Citizen and Immigration Services
- US Immigration and Customs Enforcement
Inventions & Patents
Legal Research
- Code of Federal Regulation, GPO Access
- Congressional Staff Directory
- Federal Rulemaking, U.S. Courts
- Guide to Law Online
- Law Library of Congress
- United States Code @ GPO Access
- United States CourtsHow were the federal courts established? What kind of cases do they hear? What is the difference between state and federal courts? These might be some of the questions you're asking when you visit uscourts.gov, and the answers are a click away.
Limited Liability Companies
Military
- Military Legal Resources @ LOCThe U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's Legal Center & School Library External Link in Charlottesville, VA, holds extensive collections of primary source materials and publications in the field of military law. Selections from these collections are now being made accessible in full text PDF versions via the Library of Congress Federal Research Division (FRD) Web site. As more materials are converted to digital formats, they will be added to this page.
- Military, National Security & Defense @ WashlawMilitary and National Security resource page with links to military legal offices, military research guides, military magazines, military news, military specifications and standards, the CIA, Department of Defense, national security, veterans resources, and much more.
Money, Investments & Retirement
Real Estate Law & Property Law
Sexual Harrassment
Technology Law
- National Telecommunications and Information AdministrationThe National Telecommunications and Information Administration is an agency in the U.S. Department of Commerce that serves as the executive branch agency principally responsible for advising the President on telecommunications and information policies.
Government Documents |
Subjects: Government Documents, Alabama Documents, Legal Reference, Social Networking Technologies, Web 2.0 Job title: Reference & Electronic Resources Government Documents Librarian |



Submit
Loading...
