- Clinical Trials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans
The Guidelines provide authoritative advice for people two years and older about how good dietary habits can promote health and reduce risk for major chronic diseases. They serve as the basis for Federal food and nutrition education programs.
Flu refers to illnesses caused by a number of different influenza viruses. Flu can cause a range of symptoms and effects, from mild to lethal.
- Food and Nutrition Information Center @ USDA
The Food and Nutrition Information Center - a leader in food and human nutrition information dissemination since 1971 - provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
- Food Safety.gov
“The federal government will enhance www.foodsafety.gov to better communicate information to the public and include an improved individual alert system allowing consumers to receive food safety information, such as notification of recalls. Agencies will also use social media to expand public communications.”
- Foodsafety.gov @ Podcasts
- Foodsafety.gov @ Twitter
- Girl's Health @ Twitter
Welcome to the girlshealth.gov web site! This site was created to help girls (ages 10-16) learn about health, growing up, and issues they may face. It focuses on health topics that girls are concerned about and helps motivate them to choose healthy behaviors by using positive, supportive, and non-threatening messages.
- Global Health.gov
- H-CUP Net @ HHS
HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
- Health and Nutrition @ USA.gov
Official information and services from the U.S. government
- Health Information Technology @ HHS
Health information technology (health IT) allows comprehensive management of medical information and its secure exchange between health care consumers and providers.
- Health Resources and Services Administration @ HHS
www.health.gov is a portal to the Web sites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and other Federal departments and agencies.
Find out which private insurance plans, public programs and community services are available to you.
- Healthcare.gov @ Twitter
- Healthcare.gov @ Youtube
Welcome to healthfinder.gov, a government Web site where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.
- Healthy Aging @ CDC
- Healthy Pregnancy @ Womanshealth.gov
Becoming a mother is one of the most exciting times in a woman's life. Whether you're dreaming of motherhood, trying to conceive, or already pregnant, you've come to the right place.
Healthy People 2010 challenges individuals, communities, and professionals, indeed all of us to take specific steps to ensure that good health, as well as long life, are enjoyed by all.
- HRSA @ Facebook
- HRSA @ MySpace
- Inspection Classification Database Search @ FDA
The FDA conducts careful inspections of regulated facilities to determine a site’s compliance with regulations and the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act. The Agency is disclosing inspection information using this database.
- Interactive DRI for Healthcare Professionals @ USDA
Use this tool to calculate daily nutrient recommendations for dietary planning based on the Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs). These represent the most current scientific knowledge on nutrient needs, developed by the National Academy of Science’s Institute of Medicine. Individual requirements may be higher or lower than the DRIs.
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is a branch of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. CMS is the federal agency that administers the Medicare program and monitors the Medicaid programs offered by each state.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- Military Health System
The Military Health System (MHS) is a global medical network within the Department of Defense that provides cutting-edge health care to all U.S. military personnel worldwide.
- My Pyramid Tracker.gov
MyPyramid Tracker is an online dietary and physical activity assessment tool that provides information on your diet quality, physical activity status, related nutrition messages, and links to nutrient and physical activity information.
One size doesn't fit all. MyPyramid offers personalized eating plans and interactive tools to help you plan/ assess your food choices based on the Dietary Guidelines for Americans.
- National Cancer Institute
The National Cancer Institute (NCI) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), which is one of 11 agencies that compose the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The NCI, established under the National Cancer Institute Act of 1937, is the Federal Government's principal agency for cancer research and training.
- National Center for Health Statistics @ CDC
Welcome to the National Center for Health Statistics' website, a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health and health policy.
- National Center for Health Statistics @ CDC
Welcome to the National Center for Health Statistics' website, a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.
- National Health Information Center
The National Health Information Center (NHIC) is a health information referral service. NHIC puts health professionals and consumers who have health questions in touch with those organizations that are best able to provide answers.
- National Institutes of Health @ HHS
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important medical discoveries that improve health and save lives.
- Nutrition.gov @ USDA
Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition
- Occupational Safety & Health Administration
OSHA is part of the United States Department of Labor. The administrator for OSHA is the Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health. OSHA's administrator answers to the Secretary of Labor, who is a member of the cabinet of the President of the United States.
- Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office of Public Health and Science, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, works to strengthen the disease prevention and health promotion priorities of the Department within the collaborative framework of the HHS agencies.
- Senior Health.gov
Welcome to NIHSeniorHealth. This easy-to-use website features basic health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health. Use the buttons at the top of each page to make the text bigger, change text color, or hear the text read aloud.
- Smart Nutrition 101
Nutrition for Everyone: Nutrition Basics DHHS. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Learn about some basic nutrition concepts to help you sort through nutrition research and dietary advice.
- Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) promotes the access and use of the nation's preeminent substance abuse and mental health research data by assuring accurate public use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health. We are committed to using innovative methods to optimize data utility for a diverse audience.
- The Numbers Count: Mental Disorders in America @ NIMH
Mental disorders are common in the United States and internationally. An estimated 26.2 percent of Americans ages 18 and older — about one in four adults — suffer from a diagnosable mental disorder in a given year.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration
FDA is an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services and consists of centers and offices, which are listed in menu at left.
- U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor & Pensions
The committee began in 1869 as the Committee on Education and in 1884 through the mid-1900s it was known as the Education and Labor Committee. In 1999, then Chairman James Jeffords of Vermont, worked to officially name it the Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee.
- Womenshealth.gov @ Facebook
- Your Guide to Lowering Your Blood Pressure with DASH @ HHS
Get with the plan that is clinically proven to significantly reduce blood pressure! This updated booklet contains a week’s worth of sample menus and recipes recalculated using 2005 nutrient content data. The "Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension" eating plan features plenty of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and other foods that are heart healthy and lower in salt/sodium. Also contains additional information on weight loss and physical activity.