Gov Docs: Federal Reserve: CRS / GAO REPORTS

--Federal Reserve System, Independent Agencies

--Links to various web sites that make CRS reports available to the public.

by Marc Lobonte & David W. Perkins
CRS, Dec. 6, 2017 [R45036] (42 pgs)
--This report focuses on one pillar of the Dodd-Frank Act's (P.L. 111-203) response to addressing financial stability and ending too big to fail: a new enhanced prudential regulatory regime that applies to all banks with more than $50 billion in assets and to certain other financial institutions. Under this regime, the Federal Reserve is required to apply a number of safety and soundness requirements to large banks that are more stringent than those applied to smaller banks.

by Marc Labonte
CRS, August 12, 2013 [R41656] (27 pgs)
--This report discusses a number of implementation issues surrounding an inflation target. These include what rate of inflation to target, what inflation measure to use, whether to set a point target or range, and what penalties to impose if a target is missed.

by Marc Labonte
CRS, March 27, 2017 [R42079] (19 pgs)
--This report provides an overview of existing Fed oversight and disclosure practices. The report also considers the potential impact of greater oversight and disclosure on the Fed's independence and its ability to achieve its macroeconomic and financial stability goals.

by Marc Labonte
CRS, February 6, 2014 [R42962] (37 pgs)
--This report discusses the Federal Reserve unconventional policies in an attempt to reduced the federal funds rate and revive the economy. The Fed has also changed its communication policies since rates reached the zero bound.

by Marc Labonte
CRS, May 26, 2010 [R40877] (28 pgs)
--This report defines the potential duties and responsibilities of a systemic risk regulator, relating those duties to events that potentially contributed to the recent crisis. It then identifies the powers that would need to be given to a regulator to perform those duties, and compares those powers and responsibilities to the Fed's existing powers and responsibilities. It discusses advantages and disadvantages of giving those responsibilities to the Fed or the executive branch.

by Marc Labonte
CRS, July 15, 2010 [RL34427] (54 pgs)
--This report reviews the Fed's actions since August 2007 and analyzes the policy issues raised by those actions.

by Marc Lobonte
CRS, Feb. 06, 2020 [RL30354] (26 pgs}
--This report discusses U.S. monetary policy and the Federal Reserve. It provides an overview of monetary policy and recent developments, a summary of the Fed's actions following the financial crisis, and ends with a brief overview of the Fed's regulatory responsibilities.

by Marc Labonte
CRS, Feb. 6, 2020 [RL30354] (26 pgs)
--This report provides an overview of monetary policy and recent developments. It discusses issues for Congress, including transparency and proposals to change the Fed's mandate, and ends with a brief overview of the Fed's regulatory responsibilities.

by Marc Labonte
CRS, Feb. 6, 2020 [RL30354] (26 pgs)
--This report provides an overview of monetary policy and recent developments. It discusses issues for Congress, including transparency and proposals to change the Fed's mandate, and ends with a brief overview of the Fed's regulatory responsibilities.

by Pauline Smale
CRS, Dec. 2012 [RS20826] (10 pgs)
--This report examines the structure and operations of the major components of the Federal Reserve System and provides an overview of congressional oversight activities. The report identifies the provisions of P.L. 111-203 (the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act) that affect the structure and operations of the system.

CRS, Jan. 5, 2023 [IF10054] (3 pgs)
--Current overview of the Federal Reserve.

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.