Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY
The University of South Alabama (USA) Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
Agriculture Web Resources
Business & Economic Web Resources
Crime & Justice Web Resources
Crime in Alabama
ALEA--Criminal justice statistics as collected for the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) system.
*****Also available in AL Docs (HV 7250 .A27) from 1978-1994.
Correction Statistics -- Alabama
Alabama Dept. of Corrections
---A collection of the statistical reports prepared by the department's Research, Monitoring, and Evaluation Division. Monthly reports are detailed representations of department trends and activities such as inmate intakes and releases, work release salaries and personnel turnover.
Annual Reports: 2000-present
Monthly Reports: Jan. 2017-present
Domestic Violence in Alabama
(listed on webpage as Domestic Violence Crime Statistics)
1995 - present
Drug-related Crime Statistics
Special Report Excerpted from Crime in Alabama
1998 - present
Family Violence in Alabama, 2006-2010
(Crime in Alabama Special Report)
Juvenile Victims of Violent Crime in Alabama
(listed on webpage as Juvenile Crime Victim Statistics)
1996 - present
Demographics Web Resources
Education Web Resources
Alabama Dept. of Education (SDE) Public Data Reports
AL Dept. of Educ.
--Select report by system and school from the Accountability Reporting System. Reports include enrollment by ethnicity & gender, dropout report, graduate report, and free lunch by system & school.
Alabama Education Quick Facts
AL Dept. of Education
--Latest 5 of statistical profile for the state.
AL Commission on Higher Education
2003 - present
****Also Available as Statistical Abstract, Higher Education in AL Docs (LB 2331.64 .A2 S72) from 1986/87, 1990/91-2001/02
Environment & Climate Web Resources
Alabama Monthly Local Climatological Data
NOAA--A monthly summary from major airport weather stations that includes a daily account of temperature extremes, degree days, precipitation and winds. Also included are the hourly precipitation and abbreviated 3-hourly weather observations.
ANNISTON: 1912-1931, 1951-1998
*****Also available in Docs Ref (C 55.286/6:) for Birmingham, Huntsville, Mobile and Montgomery
Alabama Climatological Data
NOAA--Monthly editions contain station daily maximum and minimum temperatures and precipitation. Some stations provide daily snowfall, snow depth, evaporation, and soil temperature data. Each issue also contains monthly summaries for heating and cooling degree days. The July issue also contains monthly heating degree days. The annual issue contains monthly and annual averages of temperature, precipitation, temperature extremes, freeze data, soil temperatures, evaporation, and a recap of monthly cooling degree days.
*****Also available in Documents (C 55.214/2:) from 1969-2004
*****Also available in Documents (C 30.18/2:) from 1914-1955
Health Web Resources
Alabama Dept. of Public Health (ADPH) Publications
Links to several statistical reports from 2005-present.
ADHP--Gives data on cause of death, heart disease, cancer, accidental, suicide, homicide, diabetes, Alzheimer's, and selected causes by county for the last 3 years.
ADPH--Gives data on maternal demographics, teenage births, fetal deaths, induced terminations, fertility, birth weight, etc. for the last 3 years.
Alabama Statistical Query System
AL CHS--Provides a means to create tables showing frequencies of Alabama residents for birth/Natality or deaths/Mortality, from 1990 through 2006 by county, race, marital status, age group, characteristics, etc.
Alabama Vital Statistics
AL Center for Health Statisics (ADPH)--Operates the vital records system and collects and tabulates health-related statistical data for the state of Alabama.
*****Also available in AL Docs (HA 221 .A375) from 1999-2012.
Alabama Vital Statistics at a Glance
AL CHS--Quick factsheet on AL health statistics, providing statewide statistical summaries of births, deaths, marriages, divorces, pregnancies, population, popular baby names, etc.
*****Also available in AL Docs (HA 221 .A373) from 1999-2004
PRAMS Surveillance Report
AL Dept. of Public Health--The Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) is a joint research project between the Alabama Department of Public Health and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The survey collects information from new mothers about their behaviors and experiences before, during, and after pregnancy.
*****Also available in AL Docs (HB 935 .A2 P7) from 1994-2006, 2011.
Alabama County Health Profiles
AL Dept. of Public Health--Quick snapshot for each county. Includes tables on births by age of mother; marriage & divorce rate; natalty; selected notifiable diseases; infant related mortality by mother's race and age group; and populations by age group, race and sex.
*****Also available in AL Docs (RA 407.4 .A4 C667) from 1999-2005, 2007, 2009-2012
Labor & Income Web Resources
Alabama Labor Market Information (LMI)
AL Dept of Labor--Primary source for much of the available information about Alabama's employment, unemployment, wages, and much more.
Alabama Employment Statistical Bulletin
AL Dept. of Labor--Information relating to covered employment, unemployment compensation and employment service activities. Data include quarterly and annual covered employment and wages, benefit payments and contributions by industry and county, and applicant and placement data.
Transportation Web Resources
SOUTHcat (USA Libraries Catalog)
SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Databases & E-Reference
The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.
Our Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.
Ask a Librarian
Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.