Gov Docs: Statistics: Business & Economics

Univ. of Central Florida

Iowa State U.

University of Missouri -- This guide points to consumer prices and wages reported in primary sources for each decade back to the 1700s.

University of Missouri Libraries

Commerce--Responsible for preparing the national economic accounts of the United States including Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Personal Income, Corporate Profits and International Transactions Statistics.

Census Bureau--The Census Bureau produces economic data across the entire economy on a monthly, quarterly, yearly, and five-year basis.

Census Bureau--Provides information on retail and wholesale trade and selected service industries; construction activity, such as housing permits and starts, the value of new construction, residential alterations and repairs, and quarterly price indices for single-family houses; quantity and value of industrial output, such as manufacturing activities; shipments, inventories, and orders; capital expenditures; e-commerce sales; foreign trade, including imports, exports, and trade monitoring; health insurance coverage; and state and local government activities.
2002 - present (quinquennial)

Commerce--Collects and disseminates data on imports, exports, production, prices, and foreign direct investment in the United States, as well as other economic data to analyze domestic and foreign market situations

HUD--Responsible for oversight of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac (the Enterprises); its statistical programs provide analyses of the primary and secondary mortgage markets in support of the OFHEO regulatory mission.

HUD--Provides data on the volume, characteristics, price, quality, and suitability of housing in the United States; on the construction and permanent financing required to achieve a smoothly functioning housing market; and on the status of the existing housing stock.

Census Bureau--The Census Bureau provides poverty data from several household surveys and programs.

Commerce--Conducts policy studies and economic and statistical research on issues of concern to small business, and publishes data on small business characteristics and contributions.

Archival economic data, vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.

Census--Provides statistics on employment, payroll, supplemental labor costs, cost of materials consumed, operating expenses, value of shipments, value added by manufacturing, detailed capital expenditures, fuels and electric energy used, and inventories.
2004-present

govinfo
FY 1996-present

govinfo--Provides data on budget receipts, outlays, surpluses or deficits, Federal debt, and Federal employment over an extended time period, generally from 1940 or earlier to present.
FY 1996-present

FRB
June 1996-present (released monthly)

BLS--Produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
2000-2017

ERS/USDA
Last 10 years only

Census--Annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry.
PDF: 1993 - 2004
Tables Only: 2005 - present

Available from FRASER
Jan 1953-May 2017

govinfo--Provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
1995-present

govinfo--Overviews the nation's economic progress.
1995-present

SEC--Retrieve real-time filings for a specific company and to find key company information — including its name, address, telephone number, state of incorporation, Central Index Key (CIK) number, Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code, and fiscal year end.

FDIC--Banking profile, current issue only
Latest quarterly report only.

FRB--Current data on Bank Assets & Liabilities; Bank Structure Date; Exchange Rate & International Data; Household Finance; Interest Rates; and Money Stock & Reserve Balances

FRB--Compact source of economic and financial data.
2004-2008

Data and Statistical Publications by Title

FRB--Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research--A database of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents which provides economic information and data on the U.S. economy.

Federal Reserve Economic Data
--40,000 economic time series from 39 sources.

BLS--Produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data
10-year historical data available.

BLS--Economic news releases

FRASER--1978-2004

BLS (Available from FRASER)
--A family of indexes that measure changes in the selling prices received by domestic producers of goods and services. Formerly were referred to as Wholesale Price Indexes.
March 1978-present

Census--Data include number of firms, number of establishments, employment, and annual payroll for most U.S. business establishments and are tabulated by geographic area, industry, and enterprise employment size.

Census--Information about characteristics of the businesses and their owners.

BEA (Available from FRASER)--Presents the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.
July 1921-Jan 2014 (Monthly)

Library of Congress

Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
PREX 2.8:1972-present

Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
PREX 2.8: yr./APP
1972-1990, 1995-present

Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
C 3.204/3-1: 1983-1997
C 3.204:yr-1 1964-1982

Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookstacks (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
C 3.204/3-state#: 1983-1997
C 3.204:yr-state# 1964-1982

Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
Y 4.EC 7:EC 7/1949-present
Current issues in Current Docs Periodicals

Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
PR 33.9: [Truman]-PR 45.9: [Trump]

Census Bureau--Select the type of business to research and where you are considering locating the business to pull up demographic and business statistics relevant to make a decision.

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.