LibGuides at USA: Mathematics & Statistics: Finding Articles

MathSciNet

Search MathSciNet

Search Our Journal List

Google Scholar

Databases

The following databases are useful for finding articles on the history of mathematics, but this list is not comprehensive. For a complete list of library databases, see Articles, Indexes and Databases. If you want to know if the library has a specific journal title, check Our Journal List.

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Database for mathematics and statistics. Provides direct links to full-text articles from Science Direct and JSTOR.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.

SpringerLink
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997 to current. Also includes access to e-books

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals available 1995 to current.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Education, Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections, but not for Mathematics or Statistics.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text available for 574 journals.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window

Current Index to Statistics
Use MathSciNet for current information as the free version of CIS only covers items up to 2000.
Mathematics Preprint Archive
The math archive can be searched at http://xxx.lanl.gov/find/math or categories can be browsed for new, recent, and current month papers.
Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics
From the European Mathematical Society. Includes facsimiles of some documents.
NUMDAM
Open access to the metadata and, in some cases to the articles themselves, in mathematics. NUMDAM uses a "moving wall," similar to JSTOR, that is typically five years, where access to the most current articles is available only to journal subscribers.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General interest database but contains articles on math and statistics topics.

Setting Google Scholar Preferences

Use Google Scholar through the Marx Library's web site in order to access the University Libraries' full-text resources when you are not on campus. Follow these steps:

Go to the Library's web site at http://library.southalabama.edu and choose Internet Search Engines
When you choose Google Scholar, you will be asked to login as you did for our databases
Once you get to Google Scholar, choose Scholar Preferences next to the Search box
In the Library Links box, type University of South Alabama
You should get five choices: University of South Alabama (Full Text@IngentaConnect), University of South Alabama - Full-Text@USA ; Alabama Virtual Library - AONE Full Text@AVL , Open WorldCat (Library Search); and University of South Alabama - USA eText
Check the boxes in front of each one except Alabama Virtual Library - AONE Full Text @ AVL and University of South Alabama - USA eText
Click Save Preferences

You should now be able to connect to the full-text of subscribed University Libraries' resources if they are part of the results of your search.