Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alabama Department of Archives and History Digital Collections
This is the main portal for all of the digital collections housed by the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Items contained in the archives include photographs; manuscripts; audio-visual materials; the Alabama Official and Statistical Register; the Dictionary of Alabama Biography; and the WPA Alabama Writers' Project.
Alabama Moments in American History
A subset of the Alabama Department of Archives and History Digital Collections, this site serves primarily as a resource guide for high school teachers but is useful for finding primary sources directly related to important events in Alabama's history.
The web site for The Cornerstone Project, Alabama Mosaic provides access to primary sources from a variety of Alabama archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories. The collection contains items related to the settlement of Alabama through the Civil Rights movement. Also includes photographs from the University of South Alabama Archives (http://www.southalabama.edu/archives).
An ongoing project of the Cartographic Research Laboratory at the University of Alabama, this site includes the Historical Map Archive, which brings together maps of Alabama from the University of Alabama Map Library; the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library; the Rucker Agee Collection of the Birmingham Public Library; the Geological Survey of Alabama; and the Alabama Departement of Archives and History.
Acumen - The University of Alabama Digital Archives Explorer
This database provides digital access to a growing number of collections from the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library. Particularly strong in Alabama and Southern history, new manuscripts and photographs are added regularly.
Auburn University Digital Library
Containing mostly collections with a focus on Auburn University history, this site also provides access to the Alabama Postcard Collection and an assortment of manuscript and photograph collections related to Alabama history.
Birmingham Public Library Digital Collections
The BPL Digital Collections includes documents, photographs, newspapers, audio files, and much more about the history of Birmingham and Alabama. Includes collections concerned with the Gee's Bend quilt-makers and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church Bombing.
Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists
This collection includes sound and video recordings, photographs, and documents collected by Rabin during his years working in Alabama and with local law enforcement.