Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contains eyewitness accounts of Early American exploration and settlement, ranging from Viking accounts from AD1000 to Rocky Mountain settlers' memoirs of the 1800s. Among the 18000 pages of accounts, there is a significant amount of material concerning the Southeast.
Drawing on the collections of the Library of Congress, this database provides access to more than 7 million digital items related to the history and culture of the United States.
American Presidency Project
This digital archive contains over 88,000 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
Of particular interest is the media archive which contains audio and video resources dating
back to President Hoover.
Census of Agriculture Historical Archives
Searchable database of historical Agricultural censuses between 1925 and 1987.
As part of the online textbook Digital History, the primary sources contained here help tell the story of the United States through important documents.
From Revolution to Reconstruction
Primary sources and transcripts important to the history of the United States from the Magna Carta through 2008. Contains the Inaugural addresses and State of the Union addresses for many of the presidents.
Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008
The Living Room Candidate presents video advertisements for presidential candidates from all applicable parties dating back to the 1952 elections.
Making of America- Cornell University
A digital library of primary sources with 19th century imprints in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction hosted by Cornell University and University of Michigan. The Cornell site provides access to 109 monographs and 22 journals from between 1840 and 1900.
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources with 19th century imprints in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction hosted by Cornell University and University of Michigan. The Michigan site provides access to books published in the U.S. between 1850 and 1870.
State and Local Collections
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
The Valley project details life in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, from the time of John Brown's Raid through the era of Reconstruction through thousands of pages from letters, diaries, newspapers, census records, and other primary sources.
New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery
Over 870,000 images from the historical collections of the Archives. The Gallery also includes maps, video recordings, and audio recordings.
UNCAP: Uncovering Chicago Archives Project
Finding aids for primary archival sources on African American history and culture, theater, jazz, urban sociology, journalism, Native Americans, modern poetry, and much more.
Alaska's Digital Archive
Alaska's Digital Archives presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout the state.
Directory of State Archives
Listing of official state archives.