Gov Docs: Military History: Women

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.

(Research Guides)
Library of Congress

(The Unwritten Record)
U.S. National Archives

U.S. Coast Guard

National Archives

U.S. Dept. of Defense

Library of Congress
--March is Women's History Month

U.S. Army

U.S. Coast Guard

U. S. Naval History and Heritage Command

U.S. Air Force

U.S. Air Force

U.S. Library of Congress, Veterans History Project

U.S. Navy, Naval History and Heritage Command
--pictures

by Sarah E. Patterson, PhD
MARINE CORPS HISTORY, v. 8, no. 1 (2022, Summer), p. 5-20.
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 214.20:8/1

MCJ JOURNAL, vol. 9, Special (2018)
Marine Corps University Press, 2018 [209 pgs]

by Gary A. Mitchell
ARMY HISTORY, no. 122 (Winter 2022) pg. 30-40
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.20:122

U.S. National Archives, 1944
Newsreel [b/w, 3 min., 28 sec.]

Ed. by Lisa M. Budreau and Richard M. Prior.
U.S. Army, Walter Reed Army Medical Center, Borden Institute, 2008 [238 pgs]
--A commemorative tribute to military nursing in World War I
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.2:N 93/4

U.S. Army, Center of Military History, 1993
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.2:N 93/2

by Mary T. Sarnecky
U.S. Army, Borden Institute, Walter Reed Army Medical Center, 2010
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 101.2:N 93/8

by Mary V. Stremlow
U.S. Marine Corps, History and Museums Division, 1994 [44 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 214.14/4:M 33/2

by Col. Mary V. Stremlow
U.S. Marine Corps, History and Museums Division, 1986 [264 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 214.13:W 84/2

by Regina Akers
(World War I Commemorative Series)
U.S. Navy, Naval History and Heritage Command, 2019 [76 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 221.21:W 88

by Marissa N. Kester
U.S. Air University Press, 2021
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 301.26/6:W 84

by Marissa Kester
U.S. Air Force, Air University Press, 2021 [231 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 301.26/6:W 84

by Mattie E. Treadwell
(U.S. Army in World War II. Special Studies)
U.S. Dept. of the Army, Office of the chief of Military History, 1954 [868 pgs/1991 reprint]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.7:W 84

by Bettie J. Morden
U.S. Army, Center of Military History, 1990 [568 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.19:W 84

by Judith A. Bellafaire
U.S. Army, Center of Military History, 1993
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.2:W 84

by M. C. Devilbiss
Air University Press, 1990 [343 pgs]
D 301.26/6:2002020010

Ed. by Michele M. Putko and Douglas V. Johnson II
U.S. Army War College, Strategic Studies Institute, 2008 [93 pgs]
D 101.146/10:W 84

(Special Bibliography Series, no. 51)
U.S. Air Force Academy, Library, 1975 [65 pgs]
D 305.12:51

Compiled by Jacqueline S. Bey
U.S. Army War College Library, 2005 [31 pgs]

(Special Report, no. 48)
U.S. Army Research Institute for the Behavioral and Social Sciences, 2002 [58 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 101.60/6:48

by Donna Ramsey Marshall
(Peaceworks No. 34)
U.S. Institute of Peace, 2000 [32 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
Y 3.P 31:19/NO.34

U.S. Marine Corps, 1986 [24 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 214.2:W 84/5

by Linda L. Hewitt
U.S. Marine Corps, History and Museums Division, 1974 [34 pgs]
***Also available in Paper in Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 214.13:W 84

(Army Air Forces Historical Studies, no. 55)
U.S. Army Air Force, 1946 [134 pgs]

U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, Office of Policy and Planning, 2007 [25 pgs]

by DeAnne Blanton
PROLOGUE, v. 25, no. 1 (1993, Spring) p. 27-33
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South, Non-Circ)
AE 1.111:25

by Lillian Dunlap and Cynthia A. Gurney
U.S. Army, Nurse Corps, 2001
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
D 114.2:N 93/3

U.S. Army Intelligence and Security Command, 2001
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
D 101.2:C 64

U.S. Army, Center of Military History, 1996.
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
D 114.2:N 93/996

(Smithsonian Studies in Air and Space; no. 2)
by Claudia Oakes
Smithsonian Institution Press, 1978
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
SI 1.42: 2

by Nancy P. Anderson
U.S. Marine Corps, 2017
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
D 214.13:W 84/3

National Archives, 1996
Marx Library Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
AE 1.102:W 84/3 X