Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
“There is fantastic information in books. Often when I do a search, what is in a book is miles ahead of what I find on a Web site.” -Sergey Brin, co-founder of Google
Quoted in Nunberg, Geoffrey. “Google’s Book Search: A Disaster for Scholars. The Chronicle Review. The Chronicle of Higher Education. 31 Aug. 2009. Web. 24 Aug. 2010.
To find books and government documents in USA Libraries'
collections, use SOUTHcat:
USA Libraries' Catalog.
- Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold
phrases together ("death penalty")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its
variants (president? finds president, presidents, presidential...)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words
for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "death penalty,"
then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that
the subject term is "Capital punishment." Click the subject heading to
find more records with this subject.)
- Revise and refine your searches.
- Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
- Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need
this information to locate the item in the library.
The Marx Library has large collections of ebooks, many of which can be downloaded to your reader. Some can be found using SOUTHcat but not all of our ebooks are in our catalog at this point. For tips on each collection, see Using Marx Library Ebooks with Ereaders.
The following collections are the most useful ones for this assigment:
Search for your topic and then limit to books.
ProQuest Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Do a search for your topic then narrow to Books
Search Google Books
Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public
domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show
selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.