To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.
Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.
The USA Libraries subscribe to several subscription e-book collections. These collections tend to focus on a specific discipline or field of study in their coverage.
Below are some suggested search terms to use when searching the SOUTHcat catalog or library databases. Search techniques may vary with each database, so look at help screens or ask a librarian for suggestions about using quotation marks and truncation symbols.
Leave out the word "and" when doing a keyword search on SOUTHcat, since this is automatically added if the phrase is not in quotes. Put phrases in quotation marks to search as a phrase. Use ? as a truncation or wildcard symbol in the catalog. Use Advanced Boolean Search for combinations of concepts and phrases.
"samuel johnson" journal?
theroux "railway bazaar"
"united states" description travel
california description travel
automobile? travel? history
"vietnam war" battlefield?
"natural monument?" "united states"
sport? and (travel? or touris?)
travel? and (diar? or narrative?)
explorer? and (correspondence or letter? or journal?)
(soldier? or military or troop?) and (narrative? or correspondence?) and europe?
seasonal and (job? or work? or labor?)
Subject Heading Browse:
travel in literature
travelers writings, american
travelers writing, english
voyages and travel--history
europe--description and travel
america--discovery and exploration
west (u.s.)--description and travel
If you cannot find what you are looking for in SOUTHcat, try looking in WorldCat. It will allow you to search the catalogs of many other libraries around the world. If you find something you like, let a librarian know, and we may be able to get the item for you through Interlibrary Loan.
Please keep these things in mind when considering using ILL:
For more detailed information on ILL, see InterLibrary Loan Policies and Procedures