Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An Anthology of Women's Travel Writing by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks G 465 .A58 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-23
From eccentric, to cautious, to conventional,An anthology of Women's Travel Writingaims to challenge stereotypes of women travelers by presenting a range of possible forms of writing and new archetypes of female travelers. These diverse writings also attempt to confront the textual problems which result from both writing and traveling as a woman, such as the depiction of other women, the representation of spatial relations, and the relationship to the adventure hero narrative.
Encyclopedia of Travel Literature by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks G 465 .B765 2000
Publication Date: 2000-09-11
In the Encyclopedia of Travel Literature, an expert sketches the lives and achievements of explorers, adventurers, novelists, and poets from l450 to the present and describes, critiques, and quotes from their works.
Frommer's Cruises and Ports of Call by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks G 550 .S26 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
Completely revised, Frommer's Cruises & Ports of Call features photos of all the major ship classes that sail out of North American homeports. You'll also get up-to-the-minute coverage of all the lines servicing North America and the Caribbean, as well as in-depth ship coverage so you can choose the ship that’s best for you.· Our authors, longtime cruisers, hit all the major ports of call on the North American and Caribbean cruise routes, from Oahu and Vancouver to New York and St. Thomas. Their candid reviews will help you find the choices that suit your tastes and budget.
Women Travel Writers from 1750 to the Present by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks G 4654 .W66 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-08
Travel is sacred. Travel is a quest. Travel is an escape. Travel is a passion! It is enlightening, a distraction, a novelty, a dream fulfilled. It may inspire joy, terror, longing ? often, all three. Women explorers and travelers are a special breed. Some were also great writers, recording their cross-cultural impressions with stunning vividness, blending history, myth, technology, and poetic imagination. The 22 courageous women profiled in this book encircled the globe. Together, they form a grand tradition and speak to us today as never before.
Imperial Eyes by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks D 34 .L29 P73 1992
Publication Date: 1992-02-27
This second edition of a highly acclaimed and interdisciplinary book which quickly established itself as a seminal text in its field investigates the way in which travel writing has constructed an image of the world beyond Europe for European readerships. Focusing on writing about South America and Africa in relation to the political and economic expansion of Europe, this long-awaited second edition of Imperial Eyes : is updated throughout, including a new preface, an updated introduction and a postscript reflecting critically on the category of the ?postcolonial? and how it has changed since the first edition was published in 1992 contains new material, which reads well-known Latin American texts through the concept of neocoloniality and continues to discuss more general questions of the postcolonial in relation to the Americas and new ways of expressing late twentieth-century experiences of migration and displacement contains new illustrations of relevantdocuments and artefacts discussed within the text.
Long Tail of Tourism by
Call Number: University Library Electronic Books
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
National Parks by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks SB 481 .N326 2010
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
National Parks (NPs) are mainly designed to protect the remaining "wilderness" of a given country and have primarily focused on the conservation of extraordinary areas or emblematic species. National parks have many roles among which "preserving nature" has become a matter of considerable social, political, economical and scientific concern. One of the major problems concerning National Parks is how to preserve their landscapes and biodiversity. While the diversity of plants and animals can be experimentally assessed, their protection involves the maintenance of their ecosystems and periodic monitoring. Any change in an environment can certainly have some effect on the plants and animals living there and so, the consequences of changes at a variety of scales is hard to predict although variations often lead to a reduction or homogenisation of animal and plant diversity. In the long run, the positive role played by National Parks for nature conservation and tourism will be maintained if we ensure that social, economic and environmental goals are closely aligned. This new important book gathers the latest research in this field.
On the Road to Freedom by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks E 185.61 .C63 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-15
This in-depth look at the civil rights movement goes to the places where pioneers of the movement marched, sat-in at lunch counters, gathered in churches; where they spoke, taught, and organized; where they were arrested, where they lost their lives, and where they triumphed.
Award-winning journalist Charles E. Cobb Jr., a former organizer and field secretary for SNCC (Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee), knows the journey intimately. He guides us through Washington, D.C., Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, and Tennessee, back to the real grassroots of the movement. He pays tribute not only to the men and women etched into our national memory but to local people whose seemingly small contributions made an impact. We go inside the organizations that framed the movement, travel on the "Freedom Rides" of 1961, and hear first-person accounts about the events that inspired Brown vs. Board of Education
An essential piece of American history, this is also a useful travel guide with maps, photographs, and sidebars of background history, newspaper coverage, and firsthand interviews.
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks DS 12 .S24 1978
Publication Date: 1978-10-01
Selling the Sea by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks G 550 .D53 2008
Publication Date: 2007-04-27
An insider's view of how the cruising business operates
Selling the Sea offers a complete picture of the cruise line industry along with step-by-step coverage of how to effectively market the cruising experience. This updated Second Edition features new coverage of how technology has impacted the industry, new niche markets in cruising, and expanded material on shipbuilding and design. It also includes insightful interviews with today's captains, social directors, food and beverage managers, and cruise line executives who have hands-on experience at the day-to-day workings of a cruise ship.
Touring Beyond the Nation by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks G 155 .E8 T66 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
When tourists travel, they often seek the exotic. The further they venture, the more unique the cultures they gaze upon, the greater the prestige accrued; cross-cultural contact is commonplace. Yet despite the obviously transnational character of the tourist experience, national borders define existing studies of tourism. Spanish, French, or German tourism is treated almost in isolation and there are only hints of a larger transnational impetus behind the creation of national tourism products.
This volume tells a different story. Although modern tourism first evolved in Europe changes were never confined to national borders. The Grand Tour, the birthplace of modern tourism, was consummately transnational in both its execution and its influence. Although seaside resorts originated in Britain, the aesthetic and scientific ideas that made beaches desirable emerged through conversation among Dutch painters, English travellers, and both British and Continental scientists and philosophers. When travel was finally available to the masses, Irish tourism advocates looked to England, Continental Europe, and America for ideas. The Nazi leisure organization, Strength through Joy (KdF), was based on an earlier Italian model, the Dopolavoro. World's Fair promoters raided previous fairs in other countries for ideas. European-wide demand and taste helped shape nudist practice in France and beyond. At every turn, practices and products developed because tourism lent itself to trans-national discourse.
The contributors examine a wide range of topics that together make a powerful argument for the adoption of a new transnational model for understanding modern tourism. An essential addition to the library of academics studying the history of tourism, popular culture and leisure in Europe, the book will also provide interest to scholars of transnational topics, including Europeanization and globalization.
Traveling Women by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks PS 366 .T73 I43 2006
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Women's travel narratives recording journeys north and south along the eastern seaboard and west onto the Ohio frontier enhance our historical understanding of early America. Drawing extensively from primary sources, Traveling Women documents women's role in westward settlement and emphasizes travel as a culture-building event. Susan Clair Imbarrato closely examines women's accounts of their journeys from 1700 to 1830, including Sarah Kemble Knight's well-known journal of her trip from Boston to New York in 1704 and many lesser-known accounts, such as Sarah Beavis's 1779 journal of her travel to Ohio via Kentucky and Susan Edwards Johnson's account or her 1801-2 journey from Connecticut to North Carolina. In the women's keen observations and entertaining wit, readers will find bravado mixed with hesitation, as women set forth on business, to relocate, and for pleasure. These travelers wrote compellingly of crossing rivers and mountains, facing hunger, encountering native Americans, sleeping in taverns, and confronting slavery, expressing themselves in voices that differed in sensibility from male explorers and travelers. These accounts, as Imbarrato shows, challenge assumptions that such travel was predominately a male enterprise. In addition, Traveling Women provides a more balanced portrait of westward settlement by affirming women's importance in the settling of early America.
Visions of Mughal India by
Call Number: University Library Bookstacks DS 461 .V57 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-15
The Mughal Empire, which conquered and ruled virtually all of today's India, Pakistan and Bangladesh over several centuries, created one of the richest and most colourful of all historical eras. Peoples of different cultures - including Muslims, Christians, Hindus, and others, originating from Iran, Central Asia, Europe, and South Asia itself - worked, traded and travelled throughout the Empire, contributing to its dynamism and power. A few of the Europeans who began criss-crossing the roads of Mughal India wrote, in the forms of diaries, letters and travelogues, about the people and lands they encountered. This illuminating and carefully chosen anthology contains a collection of among the best writings by European travellers from England, Italy, Russia, France, Spain and Portugal as they journeyed the length and breadth of the Empire over a 200 year period (1471-1671). Their experiences and observations form fascinating and informative visions of travel and life in India during this period and provide invaluable contributions to our understanding of life at the time.
The Witness and the Other World by
Call Number: University Library Electronic Books
Publication Date: 1988-10-01
Surveying exotic travel writing in Europe from late antiquity to the age of discover, The Witness and the Other World illustrates the fundamental human desire to change places, if only in the imagination. Mary B. Campbell looks at works by pilgrims, crusaders, merchants, discoverers, even armchair fantasists such as Mandeville, as well as the writings of Marco Polo, Columbus, and Walter Raleigh. According to Campbell, these travel accounts are exotic because they bear witness to alienated experiences; European travelers, while claiming to relate fact, were often passing on monstrous projections. She contends that their writing not only documented but also made possible the conquest of the peoples whom she travelers described, and she shows how travel literature contributed to the genesis of the modern novel and the modern life sciences.