Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Articles, Indexes, and Databases page linked from the Library homepage. Remote access is available for most journals.
Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete are a good place to start for most topics. Once you have chosen your paper topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your research. Here is a webpage detailing the technical process of obtaining a fulltext article.
Recommended Journal Databases
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from earliest publication date to 2000.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals which provides current coverage of journals, including many of the titles in JSTOR.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text available for more than 645 journals in the areas of the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Features 228 OUP journals with access to all content from 1996
Recommended Newspaper Indexes and Databases
Set preferences to University of South Alabama to show links to our material.