Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The TRUST Principles for Digital Repositories
Biomedical & Life Sciences Repositories
DataMed is a prototype biomedical data search engine that searches through bioCADDIE. Its goal is to discover data sets across data repositories or data aggregators.
NIH Open Domain-Specific Data Sharing Repositories
This table lists NIH-supported domain-specific data repositories that make data accessible for reuse and are open for both submitting and accessing data. Submission is typically limited to data of a certain type or related to a certain discipline. The table provides links to information about submitting data to and accessing data from the listed repositories. Repositories in this list have current NIH funding, sustained support, open data submission and access, and open time frame for data deposit, based on information provided by the repository about funding and data availability. This non-exhaustive list is also available in a downloadable Excel version.
Other NIH Data Resources
This table lists NIH-supported domain-specific data resources that do not meet the full criteria for inclusion on the Open Repositories list. This list includes repositories that restrict data submission to a specific set of researchers, as well as those that limit who may access the data. This list also includes knowledgebases, which the NIH Strategic Plan for Data Science defines as resources that “accumulate, organize, and link growing bodies of information related to core datasets.” The table provides links to information about submitting data to and accessing data from the listed repositories, as well as further information provided by the repository about funding and data availability. This non-exhaustive list is also available in a downloadable Excel version.
- wwPDB: World Wide Protein Databank
Protein Data Bank archive (PDB) has serves as the single repository of information about the 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
EMDataResource is a unified global portal for deposition and retrieval of 3DEM density maps, atomic models, and associated metadata.
- Health and Medical Care Archive
The Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. HMCA preserves and disseminates data collected by selected research projects funded by the Foundation and facilitates secondary analyses of the data. The data collections in HMCA include surveys of health care professionals and organizations, investigations of access to medical care, surveys on substance abuse, and evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care.
University of South Alabama Institutional Repository
This repository is a service of the University of South Alabama libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus.
Submitting Content to JagWorks
To submit content to JagWorks, please contact Jana Herrmann at email@example.com or email your request to firstname.lastname@example.org. In the request, please include your name, department, university affiliation/designation (e.g., faculty, staff, student, etc.), contact information, and a brief description of the material to submit. A submission request can also be made through the "Contact Us" link on the JagWorks@USA homepage (https://jagworks.southalabama.edu/).
General Data Repositories
Repository supporting a wide variety of scientific and medical research data associated with published articles
Repository supporting all file formats for widely sharing data, code, posters, and presentations
Generalist Repository Comparison Chart
This chart is designed to assist researchers in finding a generalist repository should no domain repository be available to preserve their research data.
Supports large-scale life sciences data
Free, open source web application where researchers can collaborate, document, archive, share, and register research projects, materials, and data.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.