Last Updated: Oct 13, 2014
The University of South Alabama Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
The official Web site of the State of Alabama
- Alabama Attorney General
The Attorney General is a constitutional officer whose duties and powers are set out in Title 36, Chapter 15, of the Code of Alabama (1975). As the State's attorney, he provides legal representation for the State of Alabama, its officers, departments, and agencies. The Attorney General defends the State in all lawsuits in which the State is named as a defendant. He represents the State in all court proceedings wherein the constitutionality of a state statute is challenged.
- Alabama Department of Archives and History
- Alabama Public Service Commission
To ensure a regulatory balance between regulated companies and consumers in order to provide consumers with safe, adequate and reliable services at rates that are equitable and economical.
- Alabama Secretary of State
The Office of the Secretary of State existed even before Alabama became a state. The first secretary of state, Henry Hitchcock (1818-19) served for the Alabama Territory. The secretary of state served a two-year term from the time Alabama became a state in 1819 until the Constitution of 1901 set the term at four years. Up until 1868, the secretary of state was elected by the legislature, but since that time has been selected by popular vote.
- Alabama State Treasury
The State Treasury is responsible for multiple state financial interests, including unclaimed property, cash management, bonds, the Alabama Trust Fund, and more.
- Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries
The goal of the Department of Agriculture and Industries is to serve the farmers and consumers of this state to the best of our ability. Farmers work hard every day to provide our nation with the safest, most abundant and affordable food supply in the world.
- Executive Budget Office
The Executive Budget Office (EBO) is a division of the State of Alabama's Department of Finance and is operated under the direction of the Assistant Finance Director for Fiscal Operations. The mission of the EBO is to effectively prepare the Governor's budget proposal, properly administer and supervise the execution of legislative appropriations, estimate revenues for budget preparation and administration, and assist in the drafting of the budget appropriation bills.
- Governor's Office
- List of Alabama Governors @ Alabama Department of Archives and History
With the inauguration of Robert Bentley, fifty-three persons have served as governor of the State of Alabama (not counting those who served as acting governor or post-Civil War military governor).
- Office of State Auditor
The Alabama Constitution requires that the Office of State Auditor make a full and complete report to the governor showing the receipts and disbursement of every character, all claims audited and paid out, and all taxes and revenues collected and paid into the treasury, and the source thereof. The Auditor shall also make reports more often upon matters pertaining to the Office if required by the Governor or the Legislature.
- ADAH Digital Archives
- Alabama 1867 Voter Registration Records Database
This database was created by staff and volunteers from the entries in the 131 volumes of the 1867 Voter Registration Records maintained by the Alabama Department of Archives and History (ADAH).
- Alabama Church and Synagogue Records Collection Database
This is an index to the Alabama Church and Synagogue Records Collection. This collection contains the records of major denominations within Alabama, including Baptist, Catholic, Church of Christ, Episcopal, Jewish, Methodist and Presbyterian. The records pertain to churches throughout Alabama and a few synagogues and document their activity through minutes, registers, financial records, correspondence, reports, programs, and scrapbooks.
- Alabama Civil War Service Database
This database was created from an 8 x 5 card file maintained by the Alabama Department of Archives and History from the early 1900s until 1982. As staff came across information related to Alabama individuals during the American Civil War, a card was created.
- Alabama Department of Public Safety Community Information Center
The purpose of this site is to act as an information portal for the general public. This site is NOT intended to supplant the community notification process, but rather, it allows the criminal justice community to promote public awareness concerning the potential threat that sex offender's and fugitives pose to Alabama's citizens, and make information regarding alerts easily accessible. An informed public is a safer public.
- Alabama Directory of State Agencies
- Money Quest Alabama
Alabama's Unclaimed Property Search Web site
- Search Alabama Governors' Executive Orders
This database contains Executive Orders issued by Alabama Governors since 1943 (Gov. Chauncey Sparks) up to 2009 (Gov. Bob Riley).
- World War I Gold Star Database
This database is being developed from the Gold Star files of World War I Alabama service people who died during the war or who had been awarded distinguished service recognition. The name "Gold Star" was derived from the gold stars awarded to mothers of service people who lost their lives.