FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY

The University of South Alabama Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
Web Sites for Government Information
- American HistoryLibrary of Congress
--- Subject areas include: The Americas to 1620, Colonization and Settlement, American Revolution, New Nation, National Expansion and Reform, Civil War and Reconstruction. - Military Resources: American RevolutionNational Archives
--- A collection of important Revolutionary era documents. - American Revolution: Lighting Freedom's FlameNational Park Service
--- Historical timeline of the American Revolution, first person accounts and key players. - Abraham Lincoln: A Resource GuideLibrary of Congress
--- Detailed accounts of President Lincoln. - A Brief Naval Chronology of the Civil War (1861-65)Naval Historical Center
--- A timeline of Naval actions during the Civil War. - Civil War Battle Summaries by StateAmerican Battlefield Protection Program
--- Battles during the Civil War. - Exploring the AmericasLibrary of Congress
--- An ongoing online exhibit of the Americas pre-contact, explorations, and the aftermath. - The Road to Impeachment: Andrew JohnsonNational Endowment for the Humanities
--- A timeline of events concerning the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson.
Web Resources for Government Information
- Continental ArmyBy Robert K. Wright, Jr
Center of Military History, U.S. Army
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.11: C 76
--- Formation and history of the Continental Army including regiments, charts, maps and illustrations. - Battle of AntietamBy Ted Ballard
Center of Military History, U.S. Army, 2007
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 114.12: AN 8/2007
--- A detailed military account for the Battle of Antietam. - Staff Ride Handbook for the Vicksburg Campaign, December 1862-July 1863By Christopher R. Gabel and the Staff Ride Team
Combat Studies Institute, U.S. Army Command and General Staff College
D 110.2: V 66/2
--- The operational level of the Battle of Vicksburg. - United States Revenue Cutters in the Civil WarBy Florence Kern
U.S. Coast Guard (formerly U.S. Revenue Cutters)
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
TD 5.30: C 49
--- The early history of the United States Coast Guard and its involvement in the Civil War. - Vicksburg National Military Park, MississippiBy William C. Everhart
U.S. Dept. of the Interior, National Park Service
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
I 29.58: 21
--- History of the Battle of Vicksburg. - Yorktown and the Siege of 1781U.S. Dept. of the Interior, National Park Service, 1957
Written by Charles E. Hatch, Jr, this is about a siege during the American Revolution.
I 29.58: 14/2
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
Library Resources for Government Information
- 1492, an Ongoing VoyageLibrary of Congress
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
LC 1.2: V 94
--- Book that accompanied the 500th Anniversary of Columbus's voyage of 1492 exhibit athe the Library of Congress. Contains photos and information at the original exhibit in 1992. - "The Dye is Now Cast" : the Road to American Independence, 1774-1776Text by Lillian B. Miller
National Portrait Gallery by the Smithsonian Institution Press
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
SI 11.2: AM 3/4
--- Using the National Portrait Gallery and other early American documents; tells the story of the United States previous to the Declaration of Independence in 1776. - A Decent Respect to the Opinions of Mankind : Congressional State Papers, 1774-1776Compiled and edited by James H. Hutson
American Revolution Bicentennial Office
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
LC 1.2: Op 3
--- Papers of the Contential Congress from 1774 to 1776 to convince British citizens that America needed to be independent. - American Navies, 1775-1783U.S. Dept. of the Interior, National Park Service
Univ Lib Government Documents, Map Cabinets (2nd FL South)(Poster Drawer)
I 29.20: N 22/775-83
--- A detailed description of the American Navies, including how the ships were designed, seamen and the routes they traveled. - Boston and the American Revolution: Boston National Historical Park, MassachusettsU.S. Dept. of the Interior, National Park Service
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
I 29.9/5: 146
--- The city of Boston and its part in the American Revolution. - English Defenders of American Freedoms, 1774-1778: Six Pamphlets Attacking British PolicyCompiled by Paul H. Smith
American Revolution Bicentennial Office
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
LC 1.2: En 3/774-78
--- A collection of British pamplets advocating for American freedoms. Authors include: Jonathan Shipley, Bishop of St. Asaph, Matthew Robinson-Morris, Baron Rokeby, Catharine Macaulay, John Cartwright and Willoughby Bertie, Earl of Abindgon. - Magna Carta and the Tradition of LibertyAmerican Revolution Bicentennial Administration, c1976
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
Y 3.Am 3/6: 2 M 27
--- Concerns the influence of the Magna Carta on the United States Consitution and the Declaration of Independence. - Emerging Nation : A Documentary History of the Foreign Relations of the United States under the Articles of Confederation, 1780-1789Editor, Mary A. Giunta
National Historical Publications and Records Commission
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
AE 1.114/3: N 21
--- First person accounts of relations with other countries and the new America. - Bill of Rights and Beyond, 1791-1991Commission on the Bicentennial of the United States Constitution
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
Y 3.B 47/2: 2 B 49/6
--- History of each Bill in the Bill of Rights. - Naval War of 1812 : A Documentary HistoryEditor, William S. Dudley
Naval Historical Center, Dept. of Navy
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 207.10/2: H 62/
--- Detailed, first person accounts of the War of 1812. - American Civil War : a Centennial ExhibitionLibrary of Congress
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
LC 2.2: R 32
--- Companion publication to an Abraham Lincoln exhibit in 1959, it contains references and images about the Civil War. - Civil War Naval Chronology, 1861-1865United States Naval History Division
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 207.2: C 49/
--- History and first person accounts of the Navy during the Civil War. - Guide to Federal Archives Relating to the Civil WarBy Kenneth W. Munden and Henry Putney Beers
National Archives, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1962
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
GS 4.6/2: C 49
--- Contains detailed information about the governmental administration of the Civil War and the management of the documentation. - Naval Documents of the American RevolutionEditor, William Bell Clark
Naval History Division, Dept. of the Navy
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
D 207.12:
--- Primary resource concerning the new American Navy and the battle for independence from England. - Underground RailroadDept. of the Interior, National Park Service
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
I 29.9/5: 156
--- Story of the Underground Railroad told through individual accounts, photographs and illustrations. - Vicksburg and the Opening of the Mississippi River, 1862-63: A History and Guide Prepared for Vicksburg National Military Park, MississippiNational Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
Univ Lib Government Documents Bookshelves (2nd Floor South)
I 29.9/5: 137
--- History of the Battle of Vicksburg. - A Guide to the Study of the United States of America : Representative Books Reflecting the Development of American Life and ThoughtLibrary of Congress
Univ Lib Government Documents Reference (2nd Floor North)
LC 2.2: UN 3/4
--- General reference index for all subjects about the United States of America
Government Documents |
Subjects: Government Documents, Alabama Documents, Legal Reference, Social Networking Technologies, Web 2.0 Job title: Reference & Electronic Resources Government Documents Librarian |



Submit
Loading...
