LibGuides at USA: LGBTQ+ Resources : Histories

The Doy Leale McCall Rare Book and Manuscript Library

The McCall Archives has a vast collection of archival material, from family papers to manuscripts to photographs. Of their various collections, there are multiple relevant to LGBTQ+ studies and personal histories.

The McCall Library is located on the 3rd floor of the Marx Library on USA's main campus. Call (251) 341-3900 or email mccalllib@southalabama.edu to schedule your visit. An appointment is required to ensure that a staff member is available to assist you. Parking passes may be requested from Library Administration in advance or at the time of your visit.

Robert Eugene Bell Papers
Robert Bell’s papers contain correspondence with publishers and friends, many of whom were noted authors, unpublished manuscripts, including a novel, several short stories, plays, poems, and memoirs. The papers also contain personal journals (1940, 1950-1999), photographs, and scrapbooks.
Mardi Gras and Social Change Oral Histories
The interviews contain various perspectives on Mobile’s Queer community, participation in Mardi Gras, social change, and race in Mobile. It includes an interview with the leader of Mobile’s famous Excelsior Band, Hosea London, discussing his experience of Mardi Gras.
Gender and Sexuality Archive
An artificial research collection that includes a selection of digitized material from the Alabama Forum, primarily from 1980-1990, and Mobile AIDS Support Services, etc.
***Contact Archives for additional information.
Gulf Alliance for Equality (GAE) Papers
Accession #730. Includes founding documents from the Gulf Alliance for Equality.
***Contact Archives for additional information.

LGBTQ+ Mystic Societies

While New Orleans might be the Mardi Gras capital of the U.S., Mobile is widely considered the birthplace of this holiday. There are over 80 mystic societies in Mobile, with more than 38 of them parading during the 2 ½ weeks leading up to Mardi Gras Day. Two of those societies are proudly all-inclusive, with deep roots in the local LGBTQ+ community.

Order of Osiris
The founder of Osiris began fundraising efforts in 1981 with the intent to establish a strictly gay Mardi Gras association. The Order of Osiris has now grown over the years, changing with the times to become an all-inclusive Mardi Gras organization. Currently, the group has a variety of members ranging in age, gender, sexual orientation and race.
The Krewe of Phoenix
The Krewe of Phoenix (KOP) is an all-inclusive Mardi Gras Organization (LGBTQ) in Mobile, Alabama. Nine founding members started the organization in January 2009. Their main objective is to give viable support to the community. Their hope is to make a comfortable environment that will be fulfilling to all. Their dream is to not be complacent, but to grow and become a vital part of the community.

Invisible Histories Project

Invisible Histories Project
Invisible Histories locates, collects, researches, and creates community-based, educational programming around LGBTQ history in the Deep South. Invisible Histories believes archiving is resistance to oppression and history leads to liberation. In their work, they center joy and community while never erasing painful and complicated experiences.