Collection Development Policies for the USA University Libraries: Biomedical Library

The mission of the Charles M. Baugh Biomedical Library is to advance the discovery and use of knowledge to promote excellence in education, research, clinical practice, and outreach in the USA health sciences community.

To that end, the Biomedical Library collection development policy governs the collecting activity in the Health Sciences. The collection primarily supports the teaching, research and clinical needs of the University of South Alabama’s College of Medicine (COM), College of Nursing (CON), the Pat C. Covey College of Allied Health Professions (CAHP)and the USA Health System, comprised of the University Hospital, Children's and Women’s Hospital, Physicians Group clinics, and the Mitchell Cancer Institute. The basic science material supports the programs in biological sciences. 

The Biomedical Library uses the following guidelines for collection development activities:

1.  Chronological: The Baugh Biomedical Library subscribes to or purchases current publications in support of medical education, biomedical research, nursing, allied health, and patient care.
2. Formats: The Biomedical Library has an e-preferred policy, meaning the library will purchase the electronic version of a resource unless it is only available in print or there are other compelling reasons to purchase the print.
3. Language: English is preferred.
4. Publication dates: Publications issued within the previous three-five years are preferred. Older materials may be purchased in support of new programs, or at the specific request of faculty members. Missing volumes are selectively replaced. Digital archives are being added as finances permit. 

Serials are purchased through EBSCO Subscription Services, Elsevier, individual publishers, and through consortial agreements. The Biomedical Library uses GOBI for book and ebook collecting. 

In addition, the following criteria are often helpful in making collection decisions:

Serials and Periodicals

• Accessibility
• Cost
• Inclusion in a major indexing source such as Medline
• Interlibrary Loan activity
• ISI impact factor
• Potential audience
• User requests

Monographs

• Accessibility
• Cost
• Ease of use
• Interlibrary Loan activity
• User requests 

Clinical Practice Resources

• Accessibility
• Cost
• Ease of use
• Quality and depth of material

For information and questions on collections, purchases, gifts, and collection assessment, contact:

Gail Kouame: gmkouame@southalabama.edu
 

The USA College of Medicine was founded in 1972 and the Biomedical Library was founded in 1973. The original Biomedical Library was tucked into a corner of the University Library building until its move to its current quarters in 1991/92. Currently the Charles M. Baugh Biomedical is a 35,000 nsf facility located on the USA campus, adjacent to the College of Medicine building.