LibGuides at USA: EDL 512: Community Development: Finding Articles

Periodicals Locations

Periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and journals) are located in several areas of the library, depending on their format and age.

Current print periodicals: 2nd floor south, shelved alphabetically by title

Periodicals on microfilm or microfiche: 2nd floor south, in metal cabinets

Older print periodicals: 2nd floor south, shelved by call number

Electronic periodicals: accessible via the library homepage

Our Journal List

To see if a particular journal is in the Libraries' collection, or to browse journal titles by discipline, use the Our Journal List link.

Journal/E-Book List
The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Finding Dissertations

USA Dissertations are located in the reference area of the Marx Library on the 2nd floor, north side. They may be checked out. USA dissertations are also listed in the library catalog (SOUTHcat) and in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Additionally, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses provides access to dissertations from other universities.

Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find dissertations from many universities. YOU WILL ONLY HAVE ACCESS TO USA DISSERTATIONS.
Dissertation Express This link opens in a new window
Free access to the citations, without abstracts, of the dissertations in Dissertation Abstracts. Ordering database only. Search by author, title, or UMI order number.

Selected Databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Over 1500 professional and scholarly journals in education.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Education topics.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text available for 574 journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.