This is the "About OneSearch" page of the "OneSearch at USA Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

OneSearch at USA Libraries  

An overview of USA Libraries' OneSearch tool (also known as EBSCO Discovery Service)
Last Updated: Aug 27, 2012 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/onesearch Print Guide RSS Updates

About OneSearch Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch (also known as EBSCO Discovery Service) is a tool tha provides a single search box to simultaneously search many of the libraries' resouces, including books, e-books, articles, media, and more.

It features:

  • A simple search box that searches many of the libraries' databases as well as SOUTHcat, the libraries' catalog
  • Ability to limit searches by source type, date, content provider, full-text availability, and more
  • A user-friendly interface based on the EBSCOhost platform familiar to many of our user

A step-by-step guide to using OneSearch is on the next tab of this guide.

 

When should I use OneSearch?

OneSearch is a great place to start your research because it helps you quickly search across many resources at once, rather than searching individual databases. You can limit your results based on a number of facets, including date range, source type, and full-text availability. The libraries' catalog, SOUTHcat, is included in the search, meaning you no longer have to search different places to find articles and books.

 

When should I not use OneSearch?

In order to take advantage of the advanced features of many specialized databases, you are better off searching a single, subject-specific database. Once you are acquainted with the particular databases for your field of study, you should become familiar with those databases and their advanced options.

 

Try OneSearch!

OneSearch for USA Libraries
Limit Your Results
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip