For your assignment, your professor wants you to locate articles from a specific magazine. But when you go directly to their website, they want you pay for access to articles. Here's how to figure out if the USA Libraries have already paid for your access:
When given a specific magazine or journal, these are the steps to find articles through the Library:
1) Always start at the MCOB Library website www.southalabama.edu/mcoblibrary rather than going to the publisher's website. We can authenticate your JAG number/password showing you are a current student and should have access. If you go directly through Google and the publisher, they may ask you to pay for the article.
2) In the middle of the MCOB Library page, click on the tab for Journals.
3) We've provided links to some of the most popular magazines or journals.
4) If there's not a direct link to your journal provided, enter the name of the journal/magazine in the search box and click "Search." "Our Journal & E-Book List" will tell you if we subscribe to that magazine/journal.
5) If we have the journal, this list will tell you which database(s) the journal is in and the years that are available. Click on the link for the database that includes the year(s) of publication you need. This record tells us that we have several databases that have some content from The Economist. If we want issues newer than 2020, we would need to search one of the Gale databases. If we needed articles that are older than 1988, we would have to use the The Economist Historical Archive. If you need an article between 1988 and 2020, I would use the Historical Archive because the articles are available as PDFs (include text, photos, charts, etc.), rather than HTML (only the text) articles in the Gale database. (Note: We do also keep the most recent year of The Economist in print).
6) If you are off-campus when you click on the link to a database, it will ask for your Jag number and password (same as your email account). Then the database will open. If you're on-campus, it will just open.
7) Once it opens, you can search by date to see all the articles published in that issue or use the "Search within this publication" box on the top-right to find articles within the publication that deal with "Sovereign wealth fund."
Just FYI.. we don't have all journals available electronically. Some we only have in print (especially older journals, pre-2000s). If you do need one that we only have in print, fill out an ILL (InterLibrary Loan) request form, and they will scan it and send to you.
If we don't have the journal, you can request the article through the University Libraries' Interlibrary Loan Service, which is located in the Marx Library. They will do their best to borrow an electronic copy for you from another Library that does own that journal.
