Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If the article you need is not in any of our databases or in print or microfilm in the Library, we can request it for you from another library. Go to the Interlibrary Loan page for information on registering for an ILL account, requesting materials, and fees.
Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Articles, Indexes, and Databases page linked from the Library homepage. Remote access is available for most journals.
Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete are a good place to start for most topics. Once you have chosen your paper topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your reseach. Here is a webpage detailing the technical process of obtaining a fulltext article.
Our Journal List is the database of all the journals we subscribe to in print and electronically. Once you have a citation to an article, go here to see if the Libraries have a subscription to this particular volume, issue and year of the journal you need. Occasionally the information is incorrect and/or unclear. Call us at 460-7025 if you have any question about the availability of these journals. (Note: Some magazine and journal publishers "embargo" the latest year of electronic versions. This means that the most recent issues will not be available online for a year from their publication date.)
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
A collection of full-text journals which provides current coverage of journals, including many of the titles in JSTOR. The collection now includes electronic books. To limit to only one format use the drop down options in search box.
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
Periodicals Archive Online
Backfiles for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
SAGE Journals Online
Full-text available for 574 journals.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.
History Reference Center
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. Materials cover resources for all age groups, but the emphasis is on high school and undergraduate study.
Set preferences to University of South Alabama to show links to our material.