Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.
- Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("nazi death camps")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (nazi? finds nazi, nazis, nazism...)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "concentration camps" then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject terms can vary from "Concentration camps" to "World War, 1939-1945 -- Concentration camps -- Germany." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.
- Revise and refine your searches.
- Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
- Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library. The Location field will also tell you whether or not a book can be checked out. A book that's shelved in Marx Library Reference cannot usually be checked out, while one in Marx Library Bookstacks can.
The Marx Library also has a special Holocaust collection, the Agnes Tennenbaum Holocaust Library Collection. These books can be found by searching Agnes Tennenbaum Holocaust Library Collection as a title in SOUTHcat. More on this collection and a complete title list can be found at http://libguides.southalabama.edu/agnestennenbaumholocaustcollection.
All of these ebook collections have a significant number of titles on the Holocaust.
Brandeis University Press Open Access Ebooks
35 Open Access titles on Jewish history, culture, and life.
Project Muse ebook Collections
Over 4000 ebook titles on a variety of topics. To search only books, use the pulldown menu next to the search box and choose Books.
EBSCO Academic Collection
This subscription databases provides the Library with access to over 112,000 ebook titles on a variety of topics. Although these books need to be checked out, more than one person at a time can access, view and checkout these titles. Searching "holocaust" in this collection retrieves over 700 book titles.
EBSCO eBook Collection
These books can be read online or downloaded to your ereader, unless it is a Kindle. This collection requires the use of Adobe Digital Editions with does not support Kindle yet. Set up a personal account for free if you want to download books.
ProQuest Ebook Central
ebrary has over 70,000 titles spanning a wide variety of topics. Books can be read online or download to your ereader, unless it is a Kindle. This collection requires the use of Adobe Digital Editions with does not support Kindle yet. Set up a personal account for free if you want to download books.
Harvard University Press Ebooks
Searching "holocaust" retrieves five books that the University Library has access to in this collection.
ACLS Humanities ebooks
These books can be read on your computer or downloaded to your ereader. Limiting your search to "title" gives you the most relevant results.
OneSearch allows you to simultaneously search several library resources at one time, including our catalog and some of our ebook resources. For a complete guide to using OneSearch see OneSearch at USA Libraries. The OneSearch search box is located in the center of the Marx Library homepage.
To get started, enter a search term in the box, then hit search.