LibGuides at USA: MKT 541: Strategic Marketing: Online Resources & Library Databases

Library Databases

These databases will be invaluable as you search for articles and information for your marketing plan:

Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Formerly Business and Company Resource Center, this database is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier (including Advertising Age, 1990-present; Marketing Research (AMA) 1989-present; BrandWeek 1994-present; Journal of Brand Management 2001-present. Also, by selecting "More" and then choosing 'company profiles' from the resulting drop-down box, you can retrieve a SWOT Analysis

Emerald
Includes Journal of Product and Brand Management, 1992-present.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Includes Marketing Week, 1997-present; Marketing Business Weekly, 2008-present; Marketing Health Services, 1991-present).

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Financial reports and ratios; company executive information; NAICS codes; industry information.

Standard & Poor's
Excellent resource for competitor information as well as industry surveys.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Once in the database,select business, then marketing

Online Resources

These are links to Internet resources that are valid for your class project:

http://www.brandweek.com/bw/index.jsp Brandweek.com (now adweek.com) is an online marketing magazine delivering breaking news, analysis and industry data geared to corporate branding professionals. Brandweek.com provides current reports on traditional and Internet marketing strategies in all major product categories and provides information on how to be competitive locally and nationally.

http://adage.com Advertising Age is a well established publication (also available in Business Source Premier). This website provides a number of useful links for researchers.

http://www.clickz.com/stats/ ClickZStats provides a collection of online facts which have been gathered from secondary resources. Especially useful is the 'Stats Toolbox' which is an archive of statistical data.

http://www.knowthis.com KnowThis contains the basic principles of marketing and advertising in clear, concise tutorials. Also included are numerous Web resources for advertising, selling, promotion and research.

http://marketingsherpa.com/# Marketing Sherpa, Inc. is a research firm publishing case studies, benchmark data and how-to information for marketing, advertising, and public relation professionals. Also included are interviews, surveys and industry-wide data

http://www.thomasnet.com Thomas Register of American Manufacturers' website is used as a gigantic "yellow pages" listing for U.S. manufacturers. For each product, a list of manufacturers is provided, arranged by city/state.

http://www.prophet.com/home A brand marketing website with interesting articles and relevant issues in brand marketing.

http://www.brandchannel.com Brand Channel provides interesting perspectives on brand marketing.

Nielsen Prism Zip Codes Clusters

Nielsen's PRIZM is a demographic segmentation system that provides simple way of understanding your customers. Think of MyBestSegments as a "photo album" of consumer markets. Each of the Nielsen segments has its own pages that display "snapshots" of the segment's demographic traits, lifestyle preferences and consumer behaviors. To research the profile for a zip code:

Nielsen My Best Segments

Demographic Data

These are just a few of the governmental websites that will assist you in researching demographic data:

U.S. Census

data.census.gov

International Demographic projections by country

http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idb/

The World FactBook

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/