GEO 321: National Parks Conservation: Legislative Histories

(Access limited to U. of South Alabama community only.)
vol. 1-125 (1789-2011)
---Use the SEARCH tab to enter the name of your national park, to retrieve citations for laws.

v. 65 (82nd Cong., 1951)-present
--Permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.

(Access limited to U. of South Alabama community only.)
1789-1969
--A series of reports and documents published by Congress, including materials from the Executive branch.

(Access limited to U. of South Alabama community only.)
1789-1939
--Presents a complete annotated bibliography and full text of all Executive Branch Documents listed in the "Checklist of Public Documents, 1789-1909" , indexed by subjects, names, agency report numbers, and SuDocs Classification.

1983-present
---The index to lists of individuals, organizations, and topics mentioned in the Congressional Record. References are to the Daily Edition.

v. 140 (1994) - present

v. 1-161 (1873-2015)
---The official record of the proceedings and debates of the U. S. Congress.

U.S. House. Committee on Resources, 2004

NPS. 1916-1933
Suppl. I-XIII (1933/1944-2011/2012)

Marx Lib Reference Collection (Non-Circ, 2nd Floor North)
KF 49 .C62 1984-2016
Volumes are located in Row 1A of the Law Collection
---Gives an abstract of the public law, with full bibliographic citations for all relevant documents from the current and prior congresses.

Marx Library Ready Reference (Non-Circ, 2nd FL North)
Z 1223 .Z9 C65 1975 Pt. 1-12
---Index to materials in the U.S. Serial Set (House & Senate reports and documents) from 1789-1969.

Marx Lib Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
I 29.46:L 44/2/
2007/2008-2009/2010 (110th-111th Cong.)
---Full text of laws relating to the NPS enacted by U.S. Congress.

U.S. House. Committee on Resources, 2004 (108th Congress)
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
Y 4.R 31/3:108-C [latest ed. available]
---Text of public laws relating to national parks.

Marx Lib Government Documents (Non-Circ, 2nd Floor South)
X 1.1: 1943-2010 [Permanent Ed.]
---Index to information on the debate of legislation before the U.S. Congress.

Marx Lib Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
I 29.46:L 44
---Full text of laws relating to the NPS enacted by U.S. Congress from 1895-1933

Marx Lib Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
I 29.46:L 44/
Supp.3 (1963/1972) to Supp.10 (2003/2006)
---Full text of laws relating to the NPS enacted by U.S. Congress.

Marx Lib Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
I 29.103:2012/2016
---Good source for determining when a national park was established.

Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (2nd FL South)
LC 42.2:P 92
---Numerical list and index to proclamations concerning public lands, Indian lands, and federal lands for forests, monuments, parks, refugees, military use, or other purposes.

Marx Library Docs Reference (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
KF 90 .S52 1999 v.1-2
---Converts popular names of laws into statutory citation.

Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookshelves (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
AE 2.111:
v. 50 (1937/38) [75th Cong.] - v. 126 (2012) [112th Cong., 2nd Sess.]
---Public laws in chronological order.

v. 123-157 [95th-112th Cong.] (1977-2011)
***Available on Microfiche (Row 6 of Microform Cabinets, 2nd FL South) under the SuDoc: X 1.1:

v. 153-present [110th Cong.-present] (2007-present)
***Available on Microfiche (Row 6 of Microform Cabinets, 2nd FL South) under SuDoc: X 1.1/a:

House Committee on Natural Resources [1993-1994, 2007-present]
House Committee on Resources [1995-2006]
Y 4.R 31/3:
***Available in paper, microfiche, or web
---------------------------------------------------------------
House Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs [1952-1992]
Y 4.IN 8/14:
***Available in paper or microfiche
------------------------------------------------------------------
---Committees most concern about issues relating to the national park system. Not all hearings available are listed in SOUTHcat. Use ProQuest Cong. Index to identify relevant hearings

Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources [1978-present]
Y 4.EN 2:
***Available in paper, microfiche, or web
----------------------------------------------------------------
Senate Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs [1952-1977]
Y 4.IN 8/13:
***Available in paper or microfiche
-------------------------------------------------------------------
---Committees most concern about issues relating to the national park system. Not all hearings available are listed in SOUTHcat. Use ProQuest Cong. Index to identify relevant hearings.

SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

The list of electronic databases and reference sources subscribed to by the Marx Library. Use this link to find newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles from a variety of sources.

The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation.

Contact information for the reference department at the Marx Library. Includes phone, email, and live chat information.