- Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitization Project
- American Folklife Collection
Library of Congress
- American Memory from the Library of Congress - Home Page
Primary source collections from the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program.
- Art of the Americas
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
- Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
A collection of documents in history and law from ancient civilizations to the present.
- Chronicling America - The Library of Congress
American newspapers 1860-1922.
- Civil Rights Digital Library
- Civil War in America from The Illustrated London News
Digital archive of the Illustrated London News during the Civil War years.
- Digital Collections & Programs (Library of Congress)
- Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
primary materials significant to the decorative arts and material
culture of early America including electronic texts and facsimiles,
image databases, and web resources.
- Documenting the American South
the American South is a collection of sources on Southern history,
literature and culture from the colonial period through the first
decades of the 20th century. As of March 1, 2004, DAS includes 1,266
books and manuscripts.
- Early American Paintings
Worcester Art Museum
- Founders' Constitution
online anthology of documents from the 17th century through the 1830's
related to constitutional history. From the University of Chicago and
the Liberty Fund.
- Google Book Search
includes magazines. If you do an advanced search, you can limit your
search by date and type of content. Not printable, but you can read the
issues on screen.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History | The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of world art
- Historical Census Browser
the University of Virginia Library, this census browser helps describe
the people and the economy of the U.S. for each state and country from
1790 to 1970.
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Open Collections Program: Digital collection of selected historical
materials documenting voluntary immigration to the US
- Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Full text historical documents and links for ancient, medieval, and modern history. Paul Halsall/Fordham University.
- John F. Kennedy Presidential Library & Museum
Search the Digital Archives
- LIFE photo archive
Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, hosted by Google, stretching from the 1750s to today.
- Making of America
library of primary resources in American social history from the
antebellum period through reconstruction including sociology as well as
education, psychology, American history, religion, science and
- Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery
from New York Historical Society.
- Mike Wallace Interview
the early 1960’s, broadcast journalist Mike Wallace donated 65 recorded
interviews made in 1957-58 from his show The Mike Wallace Interview to
the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas. The bulk of these
were 16mm kinescope film recordings.
- National Archives and Records Administration
- NYPL Digital Gallery
New York Public Library Digitized Collections
- Office of the Historian
U.S.Department of State. Access to official historical documentary records of U.S. foreign policy.
- Picturing America Home Page
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) "brings masterpieces of American art into classrooms and libraries nationwide."
- Picturing the thirties
Depression, The New Deal, The Country, Industry, Labor, The City,
Leisure, and American People." Features artwork, photos, newsreels, and
other material about 1930s history.
- Prelinger Archives
"Ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films made from 1927 through the present.
- Riding the Rails | PBS
WGBH American Experience. online video.
- Smithsonian Institution
Smithsonian Instrutions website with exhibitions, images, and information
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Search
- Surviving the Dust Bowl | PBS
WGBH American Experience. Online Video.
- The Crash of 1929 | PBS
WGBH American Experience. Online Video.
- The March On Milwaukee Civil Rights History Project
source digital collection from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Libraries and the Wisconsin Historical Society - 1960s civil rights
- The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
- Trails of Hope: Overland Diaries and Letters, 1846-1869
Digitized diaries and maps, from University of Utah Marrior Library
- WGBH Open Vault Search Results
WGBH media library and archives: The Vietnam Collection
- Witness to the Early American Experience
New York University Libraries and New York Historical Society
- Women Working - , 1800–1930
Open Collections Program; approximately 500,000 digitized pages and
images focused on the role of women in the U.S. economy.