- American Journeys
Contains eyewitness accounts of Early American exploration and settlement, ranging from Viking accounts from AD1000 to Rocky Mountain settlers' memoirs of the 1800s. Among the 18000 pages of accounts, there is a significant amount of material concerning the Southeast.
- American Memory
Drawing on the collections of the Library of Congress, this database provides access to more than 7 million digital items related to the history and culture of the United States.
- American Presidency Project
This digital archive contains over 88,000 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
Of particular interest is the media archive which contains audio and video resources dating
back to President Hoover.
Provides access to archival collection descriptions.
- Avalon Project- Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Including documents dating back to Ancient Greece, this collection contains documents primarily relevant to law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. Project Diana, a human rights archive, is also located on this site.
- Census of Agriculture Historical Archives
Searchable database of historical Agricultural censuses between 1925 and 1987.
- Digital History
As part of the online textbook Digital History, the primary sources contained here help tell the story of the United States through important documents.
- Documents of 20th Century Latin American and Latino Art
Digital library containing essential documents about the art and artists of Latin America and about Hispanic American art in the U.S.
- Duke Digital Collections
Providing sources for national and international subjects, some featured collections include the Emergence of Advertising in America; Ration Coupons on the Home Front (1942-1945); the 50,000 item William Gedney Photographs and Writings Collection; and African American women slave letters.
- From Revolution to Reconstruction
Primary sources and transcripts important to the history of the United States from the Magna Carta through 2008. Contains the Inaugural addresses and State of the Union addresses for many of the presidents.
- Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A set of collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, maps, and articles on a wide variety of historical areas. Organized by geographical area and time period, the site includes links to primary sources from not only the Western world, but Africa and the Islamic and Eastern world as well.
- LIFE Photo Archive
Hosted by Google, the LIFE Photo Archive provides digital access to millions of historical images ranging in date from 1750 to the present.
- Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008
The Living Room Candidate presents video advertisements for presidential candidates from all applicable parties dating back to the 1952 elections.
- Making of America- Cornell University
A digital library of primary sources with 19th century imprints in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction hosted by Cornell University and University of Michigan. The Cornell site provides access to 109 monographs and 22 journals from between 1840 and 1900.
- Making of America- University of Michigan
A digital library of primary sources with 19th century imprints in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction hosted by Cornell University and University of Michigan. The Michigan site provides access to books published in the U.S. between 1850 and 1870.
- National Archives Digital Vaults
This site contains a selection of 1200 items from the over 10 billion records held by the National Archives.
- National Security Archive
A contemporary history research archive at George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Containing over 700,000 digital items, the NYPL Digital Gallery provides free access to a diverse collection of manuscripts, antique maps, vintage photographs, rare prints, and much more.
- Post Family Papers Project
Letters and other documents from 19th century leaders in the women's rights, abolition, and spiritualism movements.
- Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
One of the largest digital image databases in the world, this service of the Library of Congress provides access to more than 1 million freely accessible digital images.
- Registry of U.S. Government Publication Digitization Projects
Serves as a locator to publicly accessible collections of digitized U.S. government publications.
- Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text & Image
Portal site to at least 20 digital collections with access to over 12,000 images of rare books, manuscripts, papyri, photographs and sheet music.
- Sid Lapidus '59 Collection on Liberty and the American Revolution
More than 150 books, pamphlets and prints representing the themes of: the intellectual origins of the American Revolution; the Revolution itself; the early years of the republic; the resulting spread of democratic ideas in the Atlantic world; and the effort to abolish the slave trade in both Great Britain and the United States.
- State Archives Collections Online: Directory of Digital Collections, Virtual Exhibits, and State Memory Projects
Provides links to a variety of digital collections made available by state archives.
- Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
The Valley project details life in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, from the time of John Brown's Raid through the era of Reconstruction through thousands of pages from letters, diaries, newspapers, census records, and other primary sources.
- VOAHA: The Virtual Oral/Aural History Archive
Audio recordings from interviews with witnesses to a wide variety of historical events.