Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American History Month: Books

This guide provides an overview of library and primary resources for African American History Month at the University of South Alabama Marx Library and University Archives

SOUTHcat

To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.

Catalog tips and tricks:

  • Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("death penalty")
  • Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (president? finds president, presidents, presidential...)
  • Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "death penalty," then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term is "Capital punishment." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.)
  • Revise and refine your searches.
  • Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
  • Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library

Sample Suggested Search Terms:

  • "African American" author?
  • "African American" history
  • "African American" history sources (primary sources)
  • "civil rights"
  • "civil rights" Alabama
  • "African American" biograph?
  • "race relations" "United States"
  • "race relations" Alabama
  • "race relations" "southern states"
  • "african american" fiction

Search Google Books

Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.

Google Book Search

Selected Fiction Titles

The following list is just a small selection of the materials in the USA Marx Library collection.

Check SOUTHcat for more titles.

Selected Reference Books

The following list is just a small selection of the reference materials in the USA Marx Library collection.

Check SOUTHcat for more titles.

Selected Government Documents

The following list is just a small selection of the government documents in the USA Marx Library collection.

Check SOUTHcat for more titles.

Selected Biographies

The following list is just a small selection of the materials in the USA Marx Library collection.

Check SOUTHcat for more titles.